Where Eagles Fly : West Basin ~ Over the Uinta Mountains in the Wasatch National Forest

in #photography6 years ago

This foreboding looking mountainous area is deep in the Wasatch National Forest,  known as the Uinta Mountains these are located east of Salt Lake City Utah on the border of the First Nations Uintah-Ouray Reservation. Rugged mountains with an east-west trending range, they bend and dip slightly into southern Wyoming.  

While officially a sub-range of the Rocky Mountains, they are known for an unusual fact; these are the highest range in the contiguous United States that runs east to west, instead of north to south. 

I lensed this image while flying and exploring the wilderness area between Bryce Canyon National Park in southern Utah up to the Wasatch Forest. This is one of my rare photos that I captured in the middle of the day as I usually avoid shooting in bright sunlight due to the washed out image effect bright sunlight has on camera sensors and lens. But with the clouds occluding  the sunlight and casting a dramatic and warm glow over the landscape I  felt this was a scene worthy of sharing!

This mountainous wilderness are the traditional homelands of the First Nations Ute Tribes from which the state name of Utah is derived.  The Utes have a current tribal membership of 2,970 and over half of its membership lives on the Reservation. They operate their own tribal government and oversee  approximately 1.3 million acres. (Research Source)   

 This image is from my project "Where Eagles Fly". 

About The Project 

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us. I am piloting a bush plane while exploring and filming throughout the remote back-country areas of North America to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness. 

About The Author 

My name is Zedekiah Morse and I'm a Bush Pilot, Photographer, Explorerand Filmmaker. I live in the Rocky Mountains and devote my time and resources to exploring as much of the world as I can by air. 

If you wish to watch a short film detailing how I do my work and this project, go here

Thank you for your support and Yehaw!!     

Sort:  

Thanks very much. Your posts are all ways interesting and educational

Hey thanks JK!

Excellent, it is a privilege to be able to fly over that beautiful landscape, and photograph it to share it. It is seen as a special place. Thanks for sharing.

It is indeed a privilege to be able to do this and I am honored that people enjoy seeing these beautiful places I film!! Thanks for your support Mary! I really appreciate it.

Hermosa fotografía @skypilot, posee fuerza y energía.

Muchas gracias! Me alegra que te guste.

Just breathtaking photography. Here I was so pleased with my photos from my walk but your just take it over the edge. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61