Zion ~ Checkerboard Mesa

in #photography7 years ago

Checkerboard Mesa in Zion National Park is a bizarre geological labyrinth. In this aerial image we are looking down on Clear Creek, which has cut a path over millions of years through these White Cliffs.  

In the middle of this picture, where you see that the creek empties into the larger canyon; on the left of that, the large dome shaped white rock is called Bridge Mountain

Across the creek to the right of that is the Eastern Temple. And to the right of that are the Twin Brothers. Across the canyon, that large mountain is Mt Kinesava and the top peak area is called the Western Temple.  

This image is from my ongoing project in which I am trying to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness. I lensed this late in the spring at dusk while exploring the Kolob Plateau wilderness.

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us.  

Yehaw!!   

Sort:  

thx for sharing

Is that Angel's Landing in the middle right? I love Zion.

Awesome photo.... upvoted... I am into photography and art.. plz do check my post out... Thx for support.. followed u now..

looks like other planet. The perfect scenery to star wars jajaja!!!

This one's a natural wonder!!!

Beautiful park i wants to play their.

I am a new steemians, maybe i should study first with you, regards know me
https://steemit.com/@fitnessallinone please follow me
I followed and upvoted.Would you like to follow and upvote me.
!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68