Beauty of an Ice Storm (Photographs)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

We woke up this morning to about a quarter inch of ice covering everything. Although this makes the ground tricky to walk on, and it makes trees a bit more dangerous, it also makes for a beautiful and not-often-seen scene. I figured I would share some of the beauty I saw with you all. Hope you enjoy!

IMG_5805.JPG
This is a roll of chicken wire.

IMG_5803.JPG
Even the clothesline looks serenely beautiful.

IMG_5804.JPG
Of course there were some icicles hanging from the roofs.

IMG_5814.JPG
A compost pile surrounded by woven wire fencing.

IMG_5812.JPG
A burned stump with rocks on top.

IMG_5808.JPG
A small pine tree sapling weighed down by the ice.

IMG_5806.JPG
The grass was able to remain upright. Looks almost like plants from under the ocean.

IMG_5810.JPG
More of those pine trees.

IMG_5813.JPG
A pine tree, leaves, and grass all together. An otherworldly scene.

IMG_5815.JPG
Another compost bin with chicken wire. Looks like it is made of glass.

IMG_5809.JPG
A view from under the pine trees.

Well, that is all! Hope you enjoyed these photos. I don't usually do photography posts, but I figured I would try something new today. See you next time!

footer andrew.png

Sort:  

Ah man, Ice storms suck but then again, you're right - they're absolutely beautiful! This would be a good fit for @lyndsaybowes's #walkwithme tag. I love seeing the ice on the chicken wire. There's just something about that shape that draws me to it. We had some ice - ish - more like frozen fog "storms" this winter that had me looking at everything with wide eyes and tons of interest!

The ice on the chicken wire was my favorite, too! I actually wasn't sure how many other people would like those. And I have never heard of @lyndsaybowes or that tag. I will have to check it out.

Edit: I just talked with my wife and she had heard of that tag. I just added it to this post. Thanks for letting me know, @farmstead!

Oh yeah @lyndsaybowes is awesome. I love her #walkwithme posts quite a bit.

I am glad you shared these with us. I really did like the images. There's always gonna be some that do, and some tthat don't like what you post. But always do what feels right for you! <3

Beautiful photos!
Especially chicken wire ones!
First and second photos are my favorite!

Right?!? The chicken wire was just gorgeous. I just couldn't believe it when I saw it.

Thanks for sharing, I got around .10 inch of ice yesterday and thought about taking some pictures but had other things that needed to be done. It is fun walking on frozen grass....makes a nice crunch sound!!

There are so many things that cannot be captured with a camera. Pictures can't even really do the actual views justice, let alone help you experience the sounds and feel of something like ice grass crunching underfoot.

You're right, but you did a good job with the pictures above!

the cold must have come through super quickly - i've never seen grass not flattened down by ice! gorgeous photos for sure :)

I am not sure how it all happened. I just woke up and it was like that! But in all my life I had never seen anything like it.

So awesome looking! Can't wait to experience a real winter!

Georgia got some cold weather this year, right? Not quite enough for ice?

We actually got some snow!

Those are some really cool pics! I’m sure the ice isn’t fun but it sure looks neat!

We were amazed by the beauty of it all in the morning. Just a beautiful little gift given to us. What an artist our Creator is.

Nicely done and I agree with the others about the chicken wire ones being the best!

My favorite as well! Honestly, I didn't know if everyone else would like the chicken wire or not. Glad you all could see it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71