Sort:  

Which one? I think they are all different.
But none had red fruit. You mean the Soldier Lichen? This is how I know them.. those are awesome! Haven't seem those yet.

I may be wrong but i think most of those are the same lichen. Yeah soldier lichen, that looks the same.

I think they look different because they are in different stages of growth.

That I dunno... maybe it is the same. Why the totally different colour though?
Either way, they all look cool! And all the forms are just amazing :)

@ewkaw

Depends how dried out the organism is. Lichen is a composite organism made of fungus plus bacteria. The fungus collects sunlight or nutrients from the bark and the bacteria stays dormant and feeds off the fungus till the fungus dries out, then becomes active and encapsulates it to keep the remaining moisture in to keep it alive... amazing really.

So yeah may be the same lichen, just on different hosts they are different colors due to their hydration and food habits.. im guessing, I may be way off.

It very much might be then. And they are pretty amazing!
I like that the look different. Makes photos more interesting ;)

Yeah they are cool, I did not encounter them till I moved to the South.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59585.77
ETH 3002.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78