Bonfire night - Guy Fawkes Night

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

It is an annual commemoration observed on 5 November, primarily in the United Kingdom. Its history begins with the events of 5 November 1605, when Guy Fawkes, a member of the Gunpowder Plot, was arrested while guarding explosives the plotters had placed beneath the House of Lords.

IMG_20181105_202801_158.jpg

Celebrating the fact that King James I had survived the attempt on his life, people lit bonfires around London; and months later, the introduction of the Observance of 5th November Act enforced an annual public day of thanksgiving for the plot's failure.

DSC_0671.jpg

Nikon D5200
f/4.5
1/800
ISO 1600

Lens Tamron SP 70-300mm

Sort:  

I don't mean to be rude but when I glanced through your brief historical breakdown on bonfire night although am not from the United Kingdom I think you used the word commemoration from My little understanding from this words it means a ceremony or celebration in which a memory or event is remembered but what I don't get is why Guy Fawkes was arrested why guiding explosives and why is this pass event been commemorated?
Please follow and I will do same

Thanks for feedback. I edited my post to be more clear 🙂

There you go thanks a lot follow and I will follow back
God bless you

Congratulations @standunun! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ - Meet the Steemians Contest
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66912.93
ETH 3115.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78