BRSCC Club Car Championships at Snetterton Part 1 - Photography

in #photography6 years ago

Well what a week it has been for motorsport fans. We had the Isle of Mann TT last week with coverage on TV most evenings and both British Touring Cars and Formula One over the weekend. I'm not a huge fan of the latter but love watching the touring cars.

Anyway....

It was also the BRSCC Club Car Championships at Snetterton; an event I've not seen before now. The day consists of multiple classes with varying cars racing. I very much enjoyed it. From a photography standpoint I wasn't particularly happy with the shots I walked away with but I did go a stake out new locations on the track so I'm hoping to be a little better prepared next time.

This first set was taken on the outer circuit at the end of the Senna Straight. You can find a map here.

First off you may recognise these from a post yesterday. These are Superkarts and they are absolutely bonkers! If I recall correctly they race with either 250cc or 400cc engines and kick out about 440bp per tonne! These guys and gals race at speeds of 150mph without a seatbelt and I heart it mentioned these are some of the toughest machines to race. They pull up to 4G in cornering.

IMG_9549.jpg

IMG_9579.jpg

Next they sent out the VW Golfs. These are essentially tuned and lightened road cars with the Mark 5 cars generating around 260hp.

IMG_9622.jpg

Next I parked up at Coram which is again on the outer circuit. The cars often cocked a wheel in the air when heading around this corner. You can just about see light under the offside rear wheel.

IMG_9641.jpg

IMG_9694.jpg

Next I headed around to Nelson and by this time the Superkarts were back out on track. The close ups are heavily cropped.

IMG_9736.jpg

IMG_9755.jpg

A little advertising shot for Snetterton.

IMG_9792.jpg

IMG_9818.jpg

IMG_9825.jpg

IMG_9833.jpg

These old Ford XR2s and a single XR3 provided some great racing. A fiend of mine used to have one of these 20 or so years ago and it was a great fun little car. I'd love to get my hands on one now but they can be very expensive indeed.

IMG_9888.jpg

IMG_9883.jpg

That's it for now. I'm away for a few days but when return I will have a sort through some inner circuit shots.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64