Back at it! Gardening lessons for myself more than just for others | Take care of Nature

in #photography5 years ago

U know what I am?

It's been a while since I posted any photos from my plants and flowers so I think it's time I get my stuff togeher and start again, at least to keep a record of what I've been up to and how I manage to I wouldn't say start from scratch but having lost track of my development it's now or never, right?

I had abandoned most of my plants because there was a really bad drought season which still is ongoing but I had to add the previously mentioned fact that water shortages in both my country and especially in the arid region where I live in got even worse, getting to a point where the little water we got maybe once or twice in a month was all we had to try to manage and sort so it lasted at least enough for us to survive. I must say I'm very sorry I did abandon my plants but I think I needed a break from these difficulties. I have also mentioned in other posts that I use water coming out from the ACs to keep their humidity levels going and maintain a more proper watering, but this time we also had to use that water for other things like ehem flushing the toilet. Yes, I know, it was pretty bad. Anyways I'm carrying this subject to other place and the good thing is that we again can afford to at least have access to a bit of more water!


Ginger



Yes, ginger! This was a complete challenge as the overheated climate where I live makes it almost impossible to grow. I actually had unsuccesfully tried to grow it before but managed now to use a spot where I know the floor beneath the pot would be cool and humid enough to simulate a less arid buth without any water stagnation near close to the soil. Just good drainage and the perfect ammount of water for it to keep building its roots, and a loose soil around it to let it grow.


Peppermint


IMG_3079.JPG


This one is a lot more easy to succeed at growing it. Only thing that has kept me busy is that because of the arid conditions and dry climate it's more susceptible to pests, so a correct following and care will be enough to prpagate this awesome and tasty plant around!



Avocado


If I had a sort of "Noah's Ark" scenario and had to choose a plant to save, it probably would be avocado pits and their plants! I've accomplished so much in a desertic area with these that it's not only a surprise for many but also a great accomplishment on my part. Avocados need tons of water, but as their pots must have significant sizes I have managed to supply enough moisture for them to thrive and I've been able to simulate/reproduce a tropical medium with complete shade which grants their best development and growth. Although I still haven't commited to fully grow avocados and their fruits, I have learnt and studied a lot to maybe someday dedicate myself to it. For now it's just a hobby in which I never ever throw an avocado pit as garbage (I actually don't do this with any fruit or vegetable's seeds), even scraps as I use everything I can to reproduce it again and also to make compost. Organic matter shouldn't be trashed along with plastic and other garbage, because it's also a great natural waste that can keep the cycle of nature going if you plan ahead and do it well. If you don't want to have a lot more plants you can also gift em or plant them in apropiate zones for them to and keep the wheel spinning.



This is it for now! I will start posting more often and share my progress along with the work I will also continue pursuing which is the preservation of nature, especially in a region like the one I live in, where plants have continuosly been killed and not taken good care of as a natural resources and sources/mediums for life to thrive.

All photos shot by me with a Canon SX-30 IS

Sort:  

Hi, @steamdan!

You just got a 0.07% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 18 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 171 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99