Do you ever turn around? @stevenjmagner

in #photography7 years ago

mountlaguna_steemit-1.jpg

8 years in Southern California and I had never seen the sky as clear as I did last night from the top of Mount Laguna. Don’t confuse this statement with Eastern Sierra dark skies, this was a clear city sky. To the east you could easily see out to the Salton Sea and to the west the Milky Way was there for the taking.

However, this trip wasn’t all beauty. 50 MPH winds tested my limits so I found some coverage and shot until my digits lost all feeling.

⌁ Location: San Diego, CA
⌁ Date: June 27th, 2017
⌁ Camera: @canonusa Canon 6D
⌁ Lens: @sigmaphoto 24mm f/1.4 ART
⌁ Filter: @hoyafilterusa Intensifier
⌁ 179 Seconds
⌁ f/3.5
⌁ 24mm
⌁ ISO 1250
⌁ WB Auto
⌁ 8 tracked images for milky way, 1 long exposure photo for foreground

mountlaguna_steemit_before1-1.jpg
mountlaguna_steemit_before2-1.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! This is an amazing photo @stevenjmagner. So if I'm understanding you correctly this photo took 9 different pictures to make? Do you have any posts showing how you put all the images together to make the final photograph? I would love to see that and learn a little more about the process. Keep up the great photography, looking forward to more!

Hey @britt.the.ish -- I really need to put a tutorial together about how I stack my images to clean them up of noise and produce more clarity in the stars. Sadly I do not, but let me work on something for you.

Amazing work! Upv!
What gear do you use for tracking?

Hey Edward -- I just bought a iOptron Skytracker Pro and am in love with the quality it produces.

Congratulations @stevenjmagner! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow! That's awesome! Love photo's where the shutter is kept open so long :)

I have shot this for 6 minutes in the past and so long as the Skytracker is set up correctly it looks amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58