Need a guiding light?

in #photography7 years ago

leocarillo_guardshack-1.jpg

Earlier this week I met up with a fellow photographer in the Malibu area to show him around Leo Carrillo and El Matador beach. I have seen this guard tower at Leo Carrillo quite a few times but had bypassed it for other shots in the area. Seeing how excited he was to shoot this spot I thought to get a little creative with my shot and after shooting for the milky way I decided to step into the frame to add to the foreground. The light I used was actually a small little camping lantern that is dimmable and has a blue base that when tilted a certain way towards the camera emits that hue. I don’t usually post selfie photos, electing mostly for the natural (and I guess supernatural of the milky way) in most of my shots. I am happy with how this turned out. :)

I took 5 tracked shots of the milky way with my iOptron Skytracker Pro for 120 seconds each at f/2.8 and a very low ISO of 800. I stacked these images in Starry Landscape Stacker and blended them back into my foreground. For the foreground I did exactly as stated above. I took 5 foreground shots at f/2.8, ISO 1250 for 30 seconds each. This was enough to get some foreground detail into the shot, and by stacking them I was able to reduce the noise. After I took 3 more shots with me in the frame, same settings but a lower ISO of 640. Blended all those suckers together and ended up with this shot.

⌁ Location: Malibu, CA
⌁ Date: June 27th, 2017
⌁ Camera: @canonusa Canon 6D
⌁ Lens: @canonusa 16-35mm f/2.8L USM
⌁ Filter: @hoyafilterusa Intensifier
⌁ 120 Seconds (x5)
⌁ f/2.8
⌁ 35mm
⌁ ISO 800
⌁ WB Auto
⌁ 5 tracked images for milky way, 8 long exposure photo for foreground
=================================
If you like my work and want to see more follow me on Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/stevenjmagner

Sort:  

Amazing. Beautiful stars.

nice work! would definitely like to learn how to do this.

Come to LA I'll show you!

Cool stuff and beautiful pics! I write about crypto, personal life, sports and life on my profile. Will soon start blogging about food, travel and my adventures in Japan, South Korea, Taiwan and Philippines. You might be interested, love <3

Wow make me wish I could see this many stars where I live and the contrast on this picture is amazing

Wauw! I would love to be there, all night long.

wow. This is incredible. I so gonna try this someday. Looks Amazing.

I have up your vote% 100 from me
I like your post, give up your vote back for me thanks

incredible! following

nice woooork! i'm starting to do some pictures of the night sky myself with my humble A5100 but not even neeeear this yet, they are on my profile if you want to take a look and do some recommendations, following you to learn how to do it, great work! keep sharing!

@dr-waldo thank you! Everyone has to start somewhere! I am not familiar with Sony cameras but I have a buddy that shoots with the a6000 and his astro quality is really good. Gotta be in a dark place though!

good to know! thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67