What did you chase this year? @stevenjmagner

in #photography7 years ago

ancientbristlecone-1.jpg

Have you ever been so passionate about something that you are willing to drop everything to pursue that drive every waking moment?

Last year I literally dropped everything; my 9-5, my interest in rock climbing, cycling, being a homebody. I used to be a full time Marketing Manager for a real estate company making decent money, but that was never my love. I saw a dead end coming up quick and I needed to find a release.

Living in Los Angeles you are surrounded by artists and designers which caused me to discover pretty quickly that I would never be elite in my profession. It ate at my soul and broke my heart when I could feel my passion for design slip out of my grasps. It also made me realize that my heart just wasn't there. I was only doing the bare minimum to succeed at my job -- but that's no profession, that's just settling. I started to realize I needed something new in my life.

A little over a year ago I picked up a camera and began my journey of self discovery. I have no formal training in photography beyond Youtube education. Treating my Youtube studies in photography like a typical 9-5 I learned as much as I could, and as fast as I could because I wanted to produce stunning work that left my friends and family in awe. I also pushed my camera(s) to it's limits by setting out into the dark and shooting under starlight landscapes.

In February I started on my path of shooting Astrophotography as much and as often as I could. I look at my work back then and can't help but laugh at what I saw as 'passable'. These times have changed and now I am out massaging my photos until they are at the level I expect. With the Milky Way as my guide, each New Moon I would try a new way to shoot the night sky to bring out all it's beauty. Beauty most people will sleep through, but for me a time in which I was able to meditate and relax and just enjoy natures sounds in absolute silence.

I am happy with who I am today -- much more than I was yesterday and I will continue to be happier as the days go forward. I chose to chase personal freedom.

Methuselah.

Workshops and fine art available. DM me for more information.

⌁ Location: Eastern Sierras, CA
⌁ Camera: @canonusa Canon 6D
⌁ Lens: @canonusa 24-70mm f/2.8L IS USM
⌁ Filter: @hoyafilterusa Intensifier
⌁ Tripod: @manfrottoimaginemore 055 & 410 Geared Head
⌁ f/2.8
⌁ 15 seconds
⌁ ISO 6400
=================================
You can follow my work on Instagram http://www.instagram.com/stevenjmagner

Sort:  

Amazing photo, good work!

Thank you @dejan.vuckovic! I am a little sad milky way season is coming to an end up here in the states, but I look forward to what next year brings!

what a piece of art! what is an intensifier filter? I mean, I can imagine what it does. But I have never heard of it...

Thank you @bitcoinblase! The intensifier helps filter out sodium based lighting which add a ton of light pollution to the skies. So far the Hoya filter has helped, but I know their are other, better filters on the market.

upvoted&followed, look at my photos :)

Thanks so much @stachu! I will take a look now.


Upboat is a friendly half-human, half-robot which hopes to help promote the better posts of Steemit by trying to ensure they get the recognition they deserve.
@UPBOAT looks for numerous signals before deciding on who to UPBOAT and is likely to summon our robot friends to share some robot love with you to show affection.


I'VE BEEN AT SEA FOR 4 DAYS AND HAVE GIVEN 309 UPBOATS! PLEASE HELP @UPBOAT STAY AFLOAT ON THE STEEMIAN SEAS BY DELEGATING SPARE SP OR PATCH WATER LEAKS BY UPBOATING.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @upboat.

I guess I should get on the upboat then! Thanks @drotto!

"Have you ever been so passionate about something that you are willing to drop everything to pursue that drive every waking moment?" alwayssss. So happy you're so much better off, Steve. And for the record, you never did just your bare minumum ;) As always, great work.

@comealong Thanks Mel! Been thinking about you lately. Hope all is well!

Wow, this is awesome. You’ve got some skills. Thanks for sharing, will look forward to your future posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67