Critters and Creepers- Backyard Visitors and Those Tracked Down! (Bonus Duckling Gif!)

in #photography6 years ago

Welcome to another adventure into my amateur macro photography!


At least once a week I try to grab my lens set, strap it onto the phone, and wander around the yard like a crazy person trying to capture images of things that move a lot faster than I do.

Each image taken is usually punctuated by my colorful swearing and/or mumbling like a woman driven mad.


20180706_135630.jpg
Some of them come out pretty decent, though.


Sometimes I walk outside and there is a picture waiting to happen already laid out in front of me.

Like this frog that decided to take a little siesta in a red lily.


20180706_135550.jpg
He makes it look more comfortable than a flower has any right being.


And then we have Stanley the Io caterpillar!

You might have seen @sammosk's post about the capture and release of this stunning little guy. Also, perhaps the video I shared of him shaking off some water!

Well, I did take a couple still images while I had him close!


20180701_143637.jpg

He was a grumpy little bugger.




20180630_201054.jpg
The raindrops in question!


Of course, with every good photo there are a million and a half outtakes. This is one of them. However, I prefer to think that the main focus of this shot was the wings.

Which are very spectacular to look at.


20180616_141248.jpg
Definitely lives up to the name of "long-legged fly"!


You can never go wrong with a frog perched in the sun.

On a moldy, mossy piece of wood.

But he was kind of camera shy. I think it adds an air of mystery. What do you think?


20180616_140647.jpg

What is he thinking about? Frog stuff, I would venture to guess.


And in nature, you always need a little creepy to balance everything out.

I decided to get a nice, grimy shot of the inside of a cicada molting.


20180617_131839.jpg

Buuuuh. This one always gives me the heebie-jeebies whenever I've looked at it.


But don't worry! I have the perfect thing to help you recover!

A baby duckling grabbing some nommy noms from my hand!

20180706_123655_001-ANIMATION.gif

He jumps an incredible distance when tempted by treats! The dad won't eat from our hands... yet.



Well, that's all I have for today!

But keep an eye on my twitch channel! I will probably be streaming some gameplay later and have my microphone on so you can hear me blunder and fail my way through!

(Feel free to have a laugh at my expense, I DO!)




stitchhead.png

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-13T23:54:54
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 91.00/100.00
Total Photos: 14
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations @stitchybitch! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Final results coming soon

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01