Which edit is better?

in #photography6 years ago

I edited a random picture in a facebook group. (I did ask for permission)
After a little time another member commented how he liked the original a lot more, which made me wonder a little what others think.
(I'm fully aware styles and tastes differ a lot, there is no "better" or "worse". It's all subjective. But still, it's interesting to see what other think.)

I'm not gonna say which one is edited by me and which is the original edit ;)

nr 1

39091706_1921386997917419_5316999685146148864_n (2).jpg

nr 2

39091706_1921386997917419_5316999685146148864_n.jpg

Let me know in the comments which one you prefer (and why?).

Sort:  

I prefer No. 2.

  • The bright sky of No. 2 fits better with the summer feeling.
  • In No. 1 the sky shows more structure, which distracts from the model.

It surely is a matter of taste.

For me it's number 2. But really it all depends on the setting. Sometimes a darker, grainy feel is far more appropriate, others the brighter, lighter setting is. It could even be to do with the Steem page background being white that I prefer number 2.

Like them both but a middle one would have been preferred. Grass background makes the already attractive subject pop.

i kind of like the 2nd one where the sky looks better.

You nailed the second one! I feel the purple tones are too strong in the first one. Nice work!

I prefer the first one.
When I see a little overexposed photos from others, they often like me. But when processing I prefer to make the photo more contrast. It seems to me that in this photo you have slightly darkened and gave drama to the sky. I think that I would definitely try this option myself.

I gave contrast to the foreground and model and brightened the sky. 2nd picture is my edit :P

It's funny that I did not guess. But still I would go along the path of darkening the sky. Although I understand that this may not be the best method. Especially when processing a portrait. 8)

there's no right or wrong way. All's subjective.
I don't like unnatural/heavyhanded processing. The gradient was too harsh and too dark for my taste and the model didn't have enough contrast to shine out from the image. I gave it a more sunny summery spin as opposed to the original cloudy bleak style.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-13T20:02:27
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1566.27/1600.00
Total Photos: 176
Total comments: 11
Total contest wins: 12
And have also received a 2.24 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Cool summer photos :) I hope day was fun there :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61166.56
ETH 2987.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71