Iceland Travel Photography: Laugarvatn

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

20170303_125730.jpg

Dear readers,

In today's post, I'm sharing some photos of the tiny Icelandic village where I spent the majority of my time. The little cabin is where I wrote my first novel, and the lake is where I went walking every day. Laugarvatn is such a special place, and I love sharing it with the world. I hope you enjoy!

20170301_133910.jpg

20170303_132031.jpg

20170307_084444.jpg

20170312_092724.jpg

20170312_092719.jpg

20170303_125841.jpg


This is my entry for the #travelphotography contest hosted by @photocontests

Sort:  

Very cool @tamarajoy! My wife and I have wanted to get to Iceland dearly!

Thanks so much for giving us a peak at a place we soon hope to visit. Keep up the great work!!

That's such a cold but lovely place. I love your photo of the sunset reflecting on the water. That is mesmerizing.

Beautiful place down in winter wonderland looks like it comes straight out of a fairytale
Thanks for sharing

It truly feels like another world. So incredibly beautiful. Thank you so much for commenting!

o dear !!! ... sigh ive been drooling over iceland since before it was a tourist attraction but its sooooooooooooo expensive to get there, and its not really a place to like do a weekend-trip either /doublefacepalm ... im sure i'll get there sooner or later, i just hope the tourist craze won't have turned it into a volcanic themepark by then , sponsored by ray-ban or something lol
i'm jealous now , duh
(naah, i dont do jealous lol tu.pngvote.jpeg)
thanks for sharing

also one of the few places on this half of the planet i would consider moving or owning if i had billgates money (i should besosmoney now, right?)

if you're in the money and you like it off the beaten track : the village where are obliged to carry guns by law every time you go outside,
because icebears .. :
https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/longyearbyen-norway

Thank you so much for commenting! Yes, it's a very expensive destination; I feel very lucky to have had the opportunity to go. I wish you all the best, and I'm sure you can get there eventually!

Norway is definitely on my go-to list as well--not sure about the ice bear village though, haha. Thank you so much for sharing. This world is so fascinating.

if you're a travelgeek then that site atlasobscura is sure to give you inspiration for the next destination. Please keep us all posted :)

Congratulations @tamarajoy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

In the third picture, is that a hot spring? It looks like steam.

Yes, that's a hot spring! It heats the local pool as well. Thanks for commenting.

My pleasure! I've been reading your post! Outstanding! Do you do professional editing? I hear that the difference between a good story and a great one is a good editor. I like your style.
If I ever publish something I'll need an editor.

Thank you! I am currently working as a freelance editor, so if you ever need someone to edit your work, please feel free to get in touch through the contact form on my website. All the best!

Ha! I'll keep you in mind. I just don't know if any of my stuff is worthy of being edited!!

Beautiful photos. I was curious about the novel you mentioned so I checked out your website.

The intro for Juice of Half a Lemon is really funny ... or maybe bizarre is the word I want. Either way I'm already thinking about all the ways that could go.

Thank you so much, and thanks for checking out my website! I'm so happy to hear that "Juice of Half a Lemon" intrigued you!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tamarajoy
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=iceland-travel-photography-laugarvatn


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69624.90
ETH 3615.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73