Leading up to two

in #photography6 years ago

On Monday is our daughter's birthday and since most of the 'special event' days haven't gone according to plan, we decided to not plan too much. Today, we had a picnic with friends in the park, ,tomorrow family over for coffee and on the actual day, nothing much as two year old's don't really care about which day is which.

The picnic today was really nice and even though we kept it simple, feeding 15-20 people at a picnic still took a bit of preparation. However, the location was set and thankfully, the weather cooperated and held the rain back an extra day. It was a free, family event put on by the city and the city theatre featuring Moomins, the Finnish book and cartoon characters and; music performances and food, which attracted quite a few thousand people throughout the day. Our daughter enjoys the Moomin books so it was a no-brainer choice and with a few other kids coming, made it easy for other parents too.

I took my camera hoping to get some shots but I was quite busy talking with friends I haven't seen for awhile and making sure the table (we were lucky to get) didn't run low on food. It was surprisingly relaxing though and the way I like it, laid back. I am not a big planner, I free-write most of my life. I did manage to snap these ones at different points though, mostly when I was chasing her around the place.

I enjoy watching her run around and interact with people and today, she played in a much freer way than I have seen her in a long time and, she has realised that jumping is a thing and tries to get as high as possible by swinging her arms. Sometimes, she even gets two feet off the ground and thinks she is pretty damn awesome.

I was hoping to capture some photos that would suffice as second birthday photos but I don't think any of these are going to cut it but, I like the candid feel of them. I haven't really edited them yet but I wanted to see them in black and white so converted them quickly. When it comes to pictures made for memory's sake, I think black and white offers a timeless quality although, I do like to have her bright blue eyes shine through in pictures too.

Since tomorrow is an indoor event and the weather is going to be cooler and rainier, time permitting, I might try to set up the flash and see if I can grab some shots that are a little more formal however, she really is not great at posing for photos and it shows in her eyes. Getting something natural looking is near impossible for my skill level but, not only is it cheaper to take the photos myself, it means that they are mine and something that if one day she looks back at them, they might hold a little more value than if the photographer was unknown.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

@smallsteps is starting to interact more freely than before. Do you think the day care has done that or is she just growing up?

Just growing up. Day care has regressed her a little in my opinion but, today there were some familiar kids and people and she was calmer plus, there was music in the background the entire time which always makes her happy.

How large is the group she's in?

12 kids I think. She isn't the oldest but, she is the only one who can speak well enough. During playground time her friends are in the older group and in class time, she has taken an assistant teacher position and organises the other kids, according to the teachers.

Heh heh, a community organizer.

Those pictures actually rock. They're all the proof you need that it's best to take photos of someone when they're not anticipating it.

Candid is much more personal and the shots more interesting in general if the light/equipment is good enough to capture the moments.

The close-up is good. The arched brows and pursed lips suggest there is real focus and thought in that gaze.

Two feet off the ground sounds pretty impressive for a two year old. Imagine you could jump as high as your own age lol!

lol. her two feet, not 24 inches. That would be impressive. :D

So pissed off I wasn't there.

We're going to do a little birthday video to send you for her. Would rather be there though.

There will be more opportunities I am sure. Perhaps an Australian birthday one day.

So adorable. Happy birthday in advance to her... Sure she'll be just as smart as her daddy

she has realised that jumping is a thing and tries to get as high as possible by swinging her arms. Sometimes, she even gets two feet off the ground and thinks she is pretty damn awesome.

For kids, this is like discovering the fountain of Youth. My Nephew can attest to that

Happy birthday in advance @smallsteps, we hope to see you all smiles come Monday

It is funny to see them put so much effort into not doing very much :)

What a gorgeous little one. Happy birthday to her. These pictures are actually great. They capture some of that revelry you mentioned (i love her mischievous look). Spontaneity is also valuable. She is beautiful even when she does not let the camera capture her. Why should she? Maybe that will be revealing to her in a few years.

The third picture is priceless. Awesome !!!. You may never ever get another one like that or the chance.

My sister has a birthday in August as well! I think summer babies embody a carefree disposition, even if only at times.

She is calculating and tests every limit with precision, kind of like a velociraptor from Jurassic Park.

Testing limits is how we learn. Good for her.

I don't know why I was so emotional while I was reading your post. These pictures are incredible. I think the fact that they are spontaneous and simple made them 1000 times better!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14