You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My World and Welcome To It

in #photography5 years ago

You know I am a beach person and love being by the water, but the beauty in your area and these shots is wonderful in its own way

I was caught by Surprise by the unexploded Ordnance sign, not because I haven't seen similar because I have seen many both from my times in the military and from Mine fields I have seen in various countries, I just wasn't expecting to see it there

Sort:  

Those signs (every 100 meters or so) really protect that side of the road :) They are quite common here, there are two big bombing ranges and the Army Proving Ground. All of them have secrets and places that nobody goes.

I was based in an Army camp in NZ called Waiouru for a few years and we had a few similar ranges.

This brings back memories of when we were building a communications tower at one stage in the field, I cannot remember right now where it was, but we had the tower up about 200 feet, when a colleague was coming along another road to bring some more supplies and we saw his driving along towards our sire and out of the blue they stopped and were reading a sign posted by the road.

They then called us and told us were we in a known MIne field, getting off the tower and out of the field was very how shall a put it nerve wracking.

We went back to our main camp and checked the map we had been given and it was not marked as a Minded area, so we checked with the Mine Action Center, they went and checked the area and it was safe the Mine sign was either put there in error or as a prank.

There is a road that cuts through the proving range that is swept and available to the public. It ends up in some really neat country right near the Colorado. But the signs give me the willies every time I go :)

That would be a nasty prank to pull, but I could see that happening. "Hey, whadda ya say we give the tech weenies a little something to think about..."

I can understand it give you the willies, unexploded ordnance is not to be messed with for sure

We laughed about that afterwards for sure over a few beers, driving in areas when road side bombs can be common is a good excuse for a few beers at the end of the day LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62725.26
ETH 3221.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85