Street Photography - where I'm coming from

in #photography6 years ago

I'm taking a ten-week summer class in street photography at the art school continuing ed program where I spend a ton of my time. This is a bit of a mild summer for me there as I'm not logging huge hours in the print studio or the 3D shop, but focusing on other things including Steem. One thing I use these classes for, though, it making sure I spend time interacting in person with other artists. I had done natural light portraiture and studio portraiture there before, so I thought street made a lot of sense as a way to progress.

We're two weeks in and have just gotten our first shooting assignment, and I'll probably be posting results as we go along, so I wanted to document the base state first - my experience and level of street photography going into this class. That should make it easier to look at the photos as the class progresses and see how much I'm learning. So these are five previous street or street-esque photos and my thoughts on them, in chronological order.

Barges portrait.jpg

OK, so this street is a river, sue me. I still think this is very much in the mode of street photography, in that it's a candid photo of some people in their everyday experience. These bargemen are preparing to work their charges through a Mississippi River lock, but they're pretty relaxed about it. This is one that's never made it quite into my portfolio, though it might if I ever get a street photography section. I immediately thought of it and went looking for it to make this post.

Busker at Bonaventure.jpg

This is in the Underground City of the Montreal Metro system, in 2014. I stood against this wall for a long, long time waiting for the corridor to be empty for just a moment. This is one that's more an architectural photograph with a busker to draw interest than a portrait, really; I'm not sure there's much special about the busker except his willingness to keep playing to no audience. I've been trying off and on to capture some of the essence of the vast system of pedestrian tunnels beneath Montreal without a lot of success, and that's one of the things I hope this class can help me get closer to.

In Minneapolis we have an annual all-night art festival called Northern Spark in the summer. This year's is tomorrow, and I may have to make a point of going, since I'm awake, even though I have a million other things to do.

This photo is from the 2015 edition, a silhouette portrait of experimental musician David Andree performing in the grey photo studio at the Minneapolis College of Art and Design.

I thought the way the lighting here was focused on the equipment rather than the performer was fascinating. Plus I love silhouettes and jumped on the opportunity to get an unusual one.


Ice Cream Bars at Turku Castle.jpg

We talked a little bit in class today about photographing kids being a tricky ethical subject, one that can lead to confrontation, and that's not something that really matches my own experience. But I realized later that part of that is the kids I'm interested in photographing are pretty much never kids who have helicopter parents. These young men aren't enjoying their ice cream bars on a little porch, they're two or three stories up. (In Turku Castle, which doesn't have well-delineated floor structure.) Their mom, who was sitting near me on street level, probably wasn't going to freak out over me taking a photo of her kids if she wasn't going to freak out about them sitting on that ledge in the first place.



This is another one from the same trip, in Reykjavik. And again, parents who are perfectly happy with their kids using Leif Eiricsson as a slide probably are not likely parents to be upset over some rando tourist taking a photo of it.

I particularly like this one for the contrast of a sense of playfulness with a sense of grandeur. This is one of Reykjavik's most notable public squares, the one just outside of Hallgrimskirkja. The statue is of their national mythic hero, and also a substantial diplomatic gift from the United States.

It's also, apparently, a pretty fun slide, as this girl and her brother were going back and forth for quite some time.

Sort:  

Love how the kids perceive those statues and structures. As the designers and architects, integrating fun into the design can be challenging but beneficial for the community.

I don't really think of that much from an architectural photography perspective, and maybe I should - kind of combining architecture and street to document unexpected/emerging uses of structures. A thought for future direction.

Of course if there's one thing that's less likely to be successful in fine art photography than architecture it's probably combining it with street.

Guess that's my natural instinct to judge the photos from an architectural perspective. However, there are different perspectives for us to interpret every single photo, that is why we say a photo can speak a thousand words.

aaah i love this, tc~ the way you use the environment to frame that undercurrent emotions is really neat. for example, there is a kind of loneliness that you captured with the busker one, and having read that you actually had to wait a long time to get that shot, the combination of the long corridor, its emptiness, the perspective and the sole person in the shot really made it works, for me !

i also like that the children one have a kind of unfettered feel about them, like something about "blue sky and no worries! these are children being children, kids of the the Earth!" something like that...

Enjoyed this post very much, tc :D It also gives me a bit of an itch to try street photography :> hahaha~

Thanks for the excellent comment.

First time commenting in one of your posts, I've seen your comments in other blogs and dropped in here to check out your content. My favorite photos were the corridor in Montreal and the one with the two kids. Hope to see your progress

Beautiful pictures. Guess you are having a good time with the students?

We haven't really had time to get to know one another yet. I'm sure once we're critiquing each other's work that will come together.

I enjoy street photography as well. Living in Downtown Phoenix for 3 years gave me tons of opportunity to go out at night and capture pictures of the city. I've been neglecting photography lately and I'm hoping steemit will help provide some motivation to go out and take photos. Here is one of my street photography photos.

photo.jpg
ross.early

If you're not following them yet, check out @photocircle, @photocontests, and @derangedvisions. There's photography motivation all over the place here.

Thanks for the recommendations!

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@Photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-15T07:49:36
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 23.45/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

The angle shot of that tunnel is quite a good one, I am usually into taking shots from those type of angles to show depth.

The kids on the ledge was probably the best one, because it said so many things without even saying anything and just showed the natural daily life of kids.

Hello @tcpolymath,

Congrats! Your outstanding work is featured on the Photocircle Top 10 Contributors for the category "Interesting Street views".
Cheers!
@Photocircle Team


You may view the post where your photograph is featured through this link: https://steemit.com/@photocircle/photocircle-top-10-contributors-76th-edition-interesting-street-views

Learn more about this new project feature through the link below:

» Photocircle Project Quest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97