The internet is for baby leopard pictures

in #photography6 years ago

I'm getting ready to go on a long flight, but I've got a little time, so how about a cat post? These are maybe a little bit bigger cats than you're used to - two Amur leopard cubs we had over the winter of 2012-13, along with their mom.

Baby Leopard.jpg

They really are adorable, and they liked to nap right up against the glass, so I was able to get some very nice closeups. Not much in the way of high-action shots, but lots of little intimate moments, which is nice.

Leopard Licks.jpg

Sleeping Leopard Legs.jpg

You can start to see some of my prioritization of body parts other than the head, here. And the ones below are very much reflective of that.

Leopard Foot and Tail.jpg

Leopard Paw.jpg

I love the closeups and the patterns, but it's this final one from farther away that has been the most popular, largely due to getting a full view of mom and a good sense of the size differential.

Leopards.jpg

It's also the earliest one, with the cub only a couple of months old. The others are four to five months later.

It's interesting with zoo photography, where you get very excited about a baby, and spend a lot of time taking their pictures, and then usually once they grow up you never see them again. The species survival plan takes them to some other zoo in some other city, and there's not as much transparency about that as there could be. I don't have any idea where these leopards are now, which makes me a little bit sad.

I could probably find out who runs the SSP and write them a letter, and they'd probably be happy to tell me. I wish there was a public database of all of them, though. Maybe that's my next nonprofit idea. Build some software that's useful to SSP directors and at the same time allow that data to be accessible by everyone.

Something blockchain might be useful for. I'll have to think about that.

Sort:  

They are very beautiful; when shown like this it's easy to forget they actually are wild animals... which, of course, they are.

Sounds like you may just have come up with another blockchain application; still wondering when all the genealogy people are going to latch onto blockchain tech...

=^..^=

These are such adorable pictures!! :) It's such a shame you don't know where they are now. Sounds like a good idea to build software for that yeah! I hope you can succeed in doing that.

so so so so so cute <3 i love how affectionate they seem to be <3 <3 <3

Aww, such cute leopard :)

Beauties!!! Such majestic creatures :3 You work at a zoo or something?

Only in the sense that I take a lot of pictures there. I have a membership and it's only about ten minutes away, so I often go over in the morning to photograph for an hour or so.

That’s awesome, animal photo heaven right next door!

Awesome! This is cool. A happy animal family.

It just needs a top hat and a fancy jacket and it’s ready to go.

Man those are some nice close ups make you want to just give it a giant hug.

When shooting through the glass, do you use a polarizing filter or anything? My wife does pretty good through our slider for her moose pictures, I was just wondering if a filter helps any. We do not get much glare on the window.

I don't use a filter. What I do is I wear a dark fedora, and when I'm photographing through glass at an angle I hold it up sort of as an auxiliary lens hood, so that it provides a dark background between the glass and anything that might reflect from it.

Thanks I will have to remember I get a lot of reflections on glass when shooting through it, my wife very little, and you none, So now I need to remember to try and block the reflections with something. She takes her time on pictures, me I am just a point and shoot hack.

Wow....very nice photography. I love these very very much....So sweet and loving they are...

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-07T20:00:09
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 107.95/200.00
Total Photos: 17
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64