Daytime Light Trails

in #photography5 years ago

Light trail photography was the first long exposure styles that I ever dove into, and almost three years later it is still one of my favorite styles! The ability to to incorporate bright and vibrant colors into street photo's draws me in every time!

Now that I feel that I have a good handle shooting light trails (finally) it was time for me to "push the envelope" and attempt more difficult styles, but how? Like all photography it is location, location, location that can really make or break shots and I have utilized most of them in my city (Hamilton Ontario). So this morning I decided to work on something I had breifly tried in the past, shooting light trails in the day time.

For my first round of attempts it was early enough that the downtown streets where pretty quiet and after a few tries I captured this shot on the corner of King st and James st.
IMG_7464.jpg

Content with that shot I walked down James st and made it to the intersection at Main St. This intersection is very historic, every building at it is 100 years old (or older). I had shot these buildings many times but never with light trails, so now was a perfect time to try!
IMG_7444.jpg

The shots at that intersection where much harder, the sun was higher in the sky and the clouds started to clear, although I didn't get the shot that I had envisioned. I am fairly happy with that one.

With the day getting brighter I decided that it was a first good round of attempts and decided to make my way home. While walking I saw a location that I had shot many times but figured what the heck, I was there. This is a tunnel that has heavy bus traffic running through it, but can be tricky for light trails because of the lighting.
IMG_7425.jpg

This one turned out like most that I have taken in the tunnel but what made it very interesting to me was capturing the shadowing of people walking on the sidewalk. I really love the look of it!

It has been far too long since I have just done a solo photo wander and challenged myself like this. It has been so very badly needed! This was a first round of daytime light trails and there will be many more to come! Let me know what you think of the results.

Sort:  

Wow, I never saw any light trails during the daytime until now! Every single one was taken at night... Thank you for sharing this with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75