I Have The Power!

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Last night I was more excited to get out and shoot then I have been in a while. Maybe it was just my mood, maybe it was what we had planned or maybe a little of both lol. Regardless of the reasoning, I was pumped and itching to go!

@mikeheinhold and I got together at ruffly 11pm in downtown Hamilton. As we went over the plan we watched a guy flipping out and destroying Christmas decorations. Until the police came, chased him down the street and arrested him. Interesting way to start the night lol.

While hiking the other day I saw some large cement pillars (remains of a bridge that is being demolished) beside a small river that feeds into the Hamilton bay. I thought they wood be perfect to spin steel wool on, so that was goal number one. But when we got to them, we quickly realized that there was way too much light in the area. It was a no go.

But the heavy machinery at a nearby construction site was set perfectly! I have seen steel wool shots on construction equipment but had never tried it, we decided to change that and after checking to make sure that we wouldn't damage anything. We had some fun!

IMG_9964-2.jpg

IMG_9950.jpg

While editing these two shots, it reminded me of when I was a kid. My friends and I would play around in construction areas. Picking up what we called dirt bombs (clumps of dirt) and throwing them at each other or whatever we could find to use as a target. I started to heavily reminisce of those times. An 80's kid, always out doing stuff like that. Rarely ever home and when I was it was watching cartoons. Oh the classic cartoons, Inspector Gadget, Thunder Cats, and then I thought about He-Man. And how it was funny that the first picture kind of reminded me of his "catch phrase" I have the power!

18-at-castle-grayskull.jpg

Shooting those was great fun! But the night wasn't over there. Despite having broken my tripod, we went down to the highway to shoot some light trail shots. We found an area that we had never been before and walked away from there with some very cool shots.

IMG_9984.jpg

It was a great night of shooting and even more fun reminiscing of my childhood while editing. Why can't all days be like this? lol

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here
This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's curie curation trail after manual review
Please join the community and become a photomag curator in the @c-squared discord server and vote for the @c-squared witness here .

Police arreated the guy? Perhaps it wasnt yet the time for him to light up the world.

Congratulations @terrywayne! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94