You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Soft Water, Soft Light, Softly Approaching Goðafoss

in #photography5 years ago

Goddamn woman, the place is incredible gorgeous and your photos are able to make it even better! How u you get that effect of smooth water? Is it by leaving the shutter open more time?

Sort:  

Thank you, and basically, yes! A few seconds and you get the long water streaks like that. I used a neutral density filter, which is like a black sheet of glass that fits over your lens. It helps you to not blow out your images by over exposing them when the shutter is open a long time, and also to even out the light off of things that reflect it too brightly, like water or broad light surfaces.

I bought it specifically for Iceland, to learn how to use it, and then almost immediately lost it a day or so after taking these because I tripped and fell and nearly ended up going over a cliff myself. These are some of the only long water shots I took in a country FULL of water, lol. Someday I'll get another, but it traumatised me a little bit. Thanks 🖤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59236.59
ETH 2995.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73