Antelope Island Causeway Things

I went on a daycation adventure to antelope island in Utah. The island is in the middle of the Great Salt Lake (GSL). In order to get to the island you have to drive along a causeway. This is where I found some cool things to take pictures of. I’ve been to the island before but have never stopped along the causeway to see what all the interesting looking things are.

oldWhiteTreeStump.jpg

Here is an old white tree stump. I don’t know what kind of tree it was, but it must have been very adaptive to grow out in the middle of one of the worlds most salty bodies of water. Salinity levels of the GSL vary depending on where you are in the lake from roughly 5% to 27%. One time just for fun I collected a 32 oz. bottle of lake water, boiled the water and got nearly 8 oz. of salt out of it!

weirdPump.jpg

I’m guessing a water pump thingy. I’m not quite sure what this is. This will look really cool in thousands of years when it becomes and ancient artifact (if it isn’t already). The people who discover it will probably have the same question as me, “what is this?” I wonder how old something has to be before it is considered ancient.

weirdMetalObject.jpg

A random hunk of metal. Not quite sure what this is either.

concreteBlock.jpg

Not much to see here. A piece of concrete in the middle of nowhere. It’s kinda boring.

skyAndCar.jpg

My car and sky. The sky gradient reminds me of when you get to the end of eating a piece of watermelon and also a spaceship, or outer space, or something like that.

Me.jpg

Me by the weird looking tree stump. The sun is white hot!... Well, there is a cat outside of my home right now that wont stop meowing! I want to go outside and meet the cat, so I’m going to be done writing. Thanks for reading, have fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61