Travel shots #2 Brussels - My unplanned visit to the Atomium building in Brussels

in #photography7 years ago

I had always heard of the Atomium building and seen some photos of it but I had never been there before. Since it was built in 1958 for the Brussels World's Fair it has always been an iconic landmark in Belgium. Like I said my visit was unexpected because I actually went to the Brussels Expo Centre which just happened to be in the same area. I was lucky enough to have some spare time to check it out and fortunately I brought my camera with me.

To get the building in my shot like this, I kneeled down to lay my camera on the ground getting me a unique perspective.

The inside of the building was quite interesting, all the 'bubbles' were giant rooms (you wouldn't say looking from a distance' with either expositions, a café and even private meeting rooms. The tunnels connecting the bubbles were my favorite part! Some were very industrial staircases and some were just mesmerizing with moving neon lights! 

I deliberately used a crooked horizon to give this shot a little extra mystery...

I even went up and down the escalators a few times to get a good shot, making myself look like a complete idiot but hey...at least I got a few good shots ;) On clear days you can also get a really good view of the city. This makes it a must visit place if you are in the area!

Let me know what you think in the comments and give me a vote and follow if you liked this post and want to see more!

~ Also take a look at my previous post about Depth of Field

Sort:  

Very interesting post, curated and followed!

Thank you, much appreciated!

I love the shots, very psychedelic. What camera? Also check me out and follow if you like!

Thank you! I currently use a Nikon D7200 but for these I used a D3000

This is incredible, definitely deserving an upvote and follow, I will resteem it to!

Thank you! That's very nice of you :)

The thirth photo makes me feel like I am in a spaceship. Nice work!

Yes it kinda felt like that!

Wow these photos are great! I know how the awkward looks go when taking pictures. The other day at the beach I was down on my stomach taking a picture and a lady couldn't believe it. haha

Haha I've been looked at by people as if I were crazy so many times that I just don't care anymore :D

Congratulations ! Your post has been highlighted in the Daily Travel Reports

Way cool! Thanks a lot for featuring my work! Means a lot :)

I love the crooked horizon because it's extremely subtle. Did you achieve the crook by holding the right side of your camera closer to your body along with giving it a slight twist?

Part of it has to do with your placement, for example dont stand in the exact middle but lean a little to the side which gives a completely different angle when it comes to straight lines like these with a far away vantage point. Also tilting my camera a little of course

Awesome! I was in brussels a few years ago but we never got around to going to the Atomium. Your escalator shot is the best, it was worth going up and down several times to get it :)

Thanks! Yes it was definitely worth it...you should pay it a visit the next chance you get

I definitely will thanks! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69429.43
ETH 3691.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.35