There's Something About a Lily

in #photography6 years ago

db153feb-dab8-42af-b8cb-4ed3ba1d37ac.jpeg


At a certain time of the day, and at this particular time of year, these wild lilies start to glow in the gardens. Known as tiger lilies or day lilies, these plants have edible flowers and tubers, but I often shoot them without eating them.

This post is my first test of steepshot.io (test, test... is this thing on?) just for the fun of it, Please enjoy the lilly photo.

IMG_2143.jpg

click @therealpaul for more


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

The wild red lily, sometimes called the tiger lily here, is province's national flower. Illegal to pick them, but I've yet to meet the flower power police force.

It was just last summer that I tried eating one of the flowers for the first time. They are good. There were no witnesses.

We call them Tiger Lilies too, but they are not illegal to pick- we use the petals to pretty up salads :)

They are my mums favourite ;)

Lilly's are my favorite <3 I have one tattooed on me... Horribly of course because I put my body up for practice to a just starting tattoo artist many years ago, but he has his own shop and does well now so I like to think my bad tattoos were worth him building a career...

I'm drifting.

Beautiful picture <3

They just scream summertime in the middle of all that thick greenery, they are one of my favorites too. The tattoo artist might insist on touching up your tattoo if you showed it him now.

Eh he's still mad at me for marrying someone else (also the three years after said marriage of not getting back together with him).

Very pretty orange. Yes are day lilies back yard flowers? Blessings @therealpaul

I've heard them called day lilies before, but they are a wild plant, growing in this back yard, but not planted by me.

That picture of the lily is stunning. The colours really work together beautifully. Thanks for sharing! :)

Thanks, it was my favorite of the bunch, and the summer green loves the orange!

Those grow all over where I am too. I did not realise they are edible though, good to know. Also if you don't mind explaining, what is Steepshot exactly? I've seen a lot of people posting using it..

I always hesitate to eat the flowers because I like to look at them, and I don't dig up the tubers because I want to see them again the next year.

I don't know if I can explain Steepshot very well, it's the first time I've ever used it. It seems to be a website, and similar to sites like Dtube, uses the STEEM blockchain. I don't know what I'm doing though, I just wanted to try it out for the fun of it.

I can understand that, I have always found them pretty. I just like knowing plant lore, I find it interesting and good knowledge to have.
Thank you for the explanation on Steepshot, I may check it out at some point.

If things got too rough, I think I could find those lily tubers out there even in the winter! It is good comforting knowledge to have, a food source in any wilderness is always good to know.

Absolutely, I could not agree more! That is definitely a big part of why I concider that type of foraging knowledge good to have. I am big on hope for the best but be prepared for the worst lol.

What is the deal using steepshot? Does it give you more exposure/power or what?
Lovely lily by the way.

I don't really know what it is yet, I just wanted to try it. I suppose it's like Dtube or Dsound or any of those sites that use the STEEM blockchain, just as Steemit does work upon the STEEM blockchain. I'm probably the wrong person to ask about exposure or power, this is the first time I've used it. We will see!

Hey, I know you like gardens and plants. For once I post something about my "personal garden" as well. I'm sure the vegetation is very different than you! Check it out if you feel too. Cheers!

That house is a masterpiece! Love the rosemary tree, and those figs, heavenly.

It is the beautiful law of nature,flowers bloom in the garden to make us happy,cold breezes blow to make us sweet ,your steepshots blooming to make us inspire.Beautiful picture dear,cheers.

I'm glad you liked the lily, thanks for the poetic words to go with it. I know that you like the flowers, you have lots of them around you!

this very beautiful flower is my friend. and hopefully you are always in good health. and I really need support from your friends. please visit my blog once friends yes @therealpaul

I have these flowers that I like drawing that are kind of this weird hybrid between a lily and an orchid (I'm not sure that they even exist in real life XD) I really like the shape of them, and sometimes the petals have nice patterns :) Didn't realise you could eat them but that doesn't really surprise me either, I learned how to eat rose petals and rose hips from my godfather and partner respectively, prior to that roses were these pretty thorny things that existed in English country gardens XD

It's a nice photo, how do you like steepshot?

goatsig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86