How Art Can Help You Beat Depression

in #photography7 years ago

Just when I turned 25 it seemed that my life couldn’t get any better, I married the woman of my dreams, had a fantastic job, a nice house and everything a man can wish for himself. Despite all that there was an emptiness growing inside and soon I was diagnosed with depression. Life became color drained, it lost its purpose and nothing seemed appealing or joyous to me.

We planned our trip to Europe which almost got cancelled due to my health. Hopefully I was able to put myself together just enough to be able to go on that vacation. No vacation happens without a camera and my wife just got the new DSLR model. I noticed that I was drawn towards composing shots and had a certain angle to look at the entire creative process.

After the trip I downloaded Instagram and this was the second time photography entered my mind, so I pulled out the camera and started taking pictures around the house and things that surrounded me. Accidentally I found my way down to the beach to watch the sunrise and this was a life-changing experience for me!

My victory over depression didn’t happen overnight, but over the next few months I began to see the beauty in the world and i life again. looking through the lense allowed me to notice the colors that depression washed away. Everything around me, things I would mindlessly pass by before now opened to me in a new way breathing on full.

travel-nature-photography-depression-rescue-william-patino1.jpg

Bermagui-Camel-Rock1__880.jpg

Curracurrong-Falls-Patino__880.jpg

Patino-Cathedral-Rocks__880.jpg

travel-nature-photography-depression-rescue-william-patino3.jpg

Austinmer-sunrise__880.jpg

NuggetPointLighthouse__880.jpg

travel-nature-photography-depression-rescue-william-patino5.jpg

travel-nature-photography-depression-rescue-william-patino4.jpg

travel-nature-photography-depression-rescue-william-patino-5.jpg

travel-nature-photography-depression-rescue-william-patino8.jpg

travel-nature-photography-depression-rescue-william-patino7.jpg

travel-nature-photography-depression-rescue-william-patino2.jpg

Yosemite-National-Park-Patino__880.jpg

travel-nature-photography-depression-rescue-william-patino6.jpg

Sort:  

@minnowpondred has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Already done

Did you shoot those photos yourself?

Congratulations @thesandip! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved
SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @thesandip! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75