The Sony A7III Experience 🔥 | 24-70mm f/2.8 GM Lense review with sample pictures

in #photography6 years ago

24-70GM-1.JPG

My first lense for the new Sony A7III

So the first lens i bought for the A7III is the sony 24-70mm f/2.8 GM. My main reason for buying this lens is the versatility you get from having a 24 to 70mm focal length, and a aperture of 2.8 might save your ass in a lower light condition.

Be sure to check out my quick Sony A7III review if you havn't

Key Stats:
Focal Length24-70 mm (Crop sensor: 36-105mm)
ApertureMax: f/2.8 Min: f/22
Diaphragm Blades9
Minimum Focus Distance38 cm
Filter Thread82 mm
Dimensions87.6 x 136 mm
Weight886 g

24-70GM-5.JPG

24-70GM-8.JPG

24-70GM-10.JPG

24-70GM-11.JPG

By just holding the lens in your hands you can feel that it's high quality. The zoom ring(closest to camera) got some friction so if you set it to 50mm it won't slide around when shooting. There is also a handy lock tab that is used for locking the focal length in place. If you like to use manual focus i can inform you that the focus ring (closest to front of the lens) is very smooth to operate.

On the lens there is also a custom function button which i personally got programmed for EYE-AF. So when I shoot portrait I can hold it to lock in focus on the eye of my model incredibly fast, that is quite handy.

The image quality of this lens is amazing and with a 9 blade aperture you get a lovely smooth bokeh.

In my mind this is the perfect first lens to get. If you travel and want to do landscape, street or portrait photography this one lens can do it all. After a while i might get a faster f/1.4 or 1.8 prime lens for portrait work or a 70-200 for more range. But for now this lens does all i need.

A cheaper alternative that is quite interesting is the new (announced in February) Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 for Sony E-mount coming out now in late may. Time will tell how it will stand up against the Sony 24-70 f/2.8.

👉Be sure to follow for more photography and tech related posts coming up👈

TheStig Out ✌

Ps: Here are some sample photos from the A7III with the 24-70mm 2.8 GM that i quickly optimized in adobe lightroom.(Size reduced for upload) Model: @Kristinbr

24-70GM sample-3.JPG

24-70GM sample-2.JPG

24-70GM sample-4.JPG

24-70GM sample-5.JPG

24-70GM sample-1.JPG

Sort:  

What is it like to work at Sony?

Sorry dude i don't work at Sony, just a Sony mirrorless enthusiast😄

I would be very happy if i own this camera :)

very cool

Sony are best for photography

yes they are quite amazing

Nice pictures

thank you 👍

wow so cool pictures, the camera technology is the best, keeps innovating base on design and features.

the clarity of the image are so awesome. the contras and the brightness are perfectly match and the color combo is balance.

@thestig Upvoted. keep photos coming my dear.^_^

Wow really appreciate you comment and feedback on my pictures! Keep an eye out for more pictures @mrblu 😃

Great comments my friend
DQmcyKwGQFVaCbPiR6mpBKnF5zsruDkeKBhXq8qdMutPSnr.gif

Ughhhhh that is good @thestig I really wanted to have a camera even if it is not cool as that... You must be really thankful to god.

Thank you, you can do really well with a old camera as well. Only your imagination is the limit 😊

Awesome review! When a i have the money that would be the next lens i'll buy

Thank you! What lense are you going for first? :)

i have heard that the sony 85mm 1.8 is quite good👍

i like it lens

Have you fully replaced DSLR with your Sony A7III? I'm looking to add a digital camera to my arsenal. Would you recommend the A7III? Is this now your main camera?

Yes the Sony a7III is my main camera. But i still bring my old Canon 400d with a 70-300 as a backup but also to have the long reach since i don't have a lens for my Sony with that long focal length yet. Would 100% recommend this camera if you want to really invest in top camera gear. In my mind the A7III with all its features at a $2000 price point in the US (more expensive in Europe..) makes it the best of its price class.

Thank you @thestig I am building my STEEMIT following so I can buy more gear. I'm learning how to maximize profits in the Steem Schools discord channel here.

If you have any tips on how you became so successful please share!

Another great review! I'm going to bookmark this post for future reference when buying new lense.

Thank you so much! If you got any questions about the camera or lense before you buy just ask me 😀

I sure will. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87