A Mountainous MemorysteemCreated with Sketch.

Mtrubidoux.png
About 2 miles up the trail facing South.

This picture i hold very dearly, it was the first time my girlfriend and I were able to take a road trip, so it was decided that it would be for a concert to celebrate her birthday. I was 19 years old, just bought a BMW 528i not too long before and I was ready to hit the road, just the two of us. It was Lady Gaga's Arthop tour in Los Angeles, so we figured we'd stop by my mom's place in the area and visit some of the locations I had gone to while living there. A highlight of Riverside is this mountain with houses at its base and a trail that wraps around and leads to a memorial. It's a very beautiful mountain, and I just had to share this view with her. Walking up the mountain with a significant other was something I had imagined doing when I was about 13 and I felt I should follow through so 13 year old me would be proud, despite how tired we were from waking up and driving 5 hours prior. We walked up, not in the right clothing, as per usual when it comes to spontaneous exercise. Despite this, it wasn't uncomfortable and we didn't care if it had been at any point because freedom and the rest of our lives were before us. We had some boba smoothies at the place where I had my very first one, ate at a really unique and quirky mexican restaurant I had enjoyed earlier in life, and then headed off for the concert. It was a great show to end an amazing day.

20140721_135152.jpg
Boba Smoothies from Boba Cafe


20140721_151132.jpg
Tio's Tacos


20140721_192041.jpg
Arriving at the concert


These memories are the best parts of me.

What memories make up the best parts of you?
I believe reflecting on the great moments is just as important as reflecting on the bad ones in order to remind one's self of the highs in life when you're at your lows.


I hope you enjoyed my short story, and you better have a wonderful day!

Remember, you think, therefore you are.

Love,
@thethinkingthing

Sort:  

Congratulations @thethinkingthing! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71