You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Origins of Christmas Trees... Evergreen worship, legends, stories, a sad fairy tale and my opinion

in #photography5 years ago

What a beautiful post and one that mirrors my heart in so many ways.

Thank you for sharing the history of the Christmas tree; I personally believe Christmas is too commercialized with people buying and giving for the sake of spending and giving rather than for the true meaning of the intended season.

I will read the Hans Christian Anderson tale, but I already know it will break my heart since the little snippet of description you provided gave me goosebumps.

Thank you for such a touching post, I truly enjoyed it.

Sort:  

Yes, when I read that Amazon was starting to sell living trees I felt, this is just too much, so sad.
There are many things we do for the sake of traditions and some of them are wrong... here in Spain some people still defend bullfighting as tradition when it's animal abuse We live modern times and we know better of the impact of taking bit swaths of land for a monoculture of the same species saplings, not allowing even trees to mature properly.
Andersel tale is not very long, it will take you ten minutes tops, but it's a sad one. My brother earned a book of Andersen tales when young, I was barely 3, I was an early reader so it was among my first things to read ever when I managed to. If you need it, take what you need, but no more... that's how Nature should be, it should have its balance and ways to restore itself... but we always OVERDO

I feel we are kindred spirits in so many ways, just from your posts and our like-minded thinking.

We live in an area where logging, fishing, and hunting is enormous, and I detest it.

I am glad to find like-minded thinkers.... thank you.

Aww I think I understand what you mean... is there anything more beautiful than a deer... :( I'm against hunting too... there is no need for it... you could understand it if it were a need for survival, but killing for sport doesn't seem right...
We have cornered our fellow animals, we leave them without a home, we complaint if they invade our roads when they run away for protection or simply try to cross it... humans complain of their numbers when we are the ones overpopulating this wonderful planet and exhausting its resources...

but I believe there are other ways, and that belief is a powerful thing
especially when you share it with others

I don't ask everyone to agree with me, but here I speak my mind

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63571.79
ETH 3068.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97