Sunsets on the Drake Passage

The Drake passage is notorious for having intense storms that can make the crossing from South America to Antarctica quite uncomfortable for lots of people. However, also you can be blessed with a smooth and crossing and as a result can have the opportunity to see stunning sunsets whilst at sea.

This shot I took 2 days ago when we were about to cross the Antarctic convergence and we were lucky enough to have a beautiful sunset on a smooth and calm Drake passage. However, today we are on the Antarctic peninsula and it is quite the opposite to that day, as it is grey, dark and currently snowing, which I believe adds to the adventure. Just remember that it is summer time down here at the moment, which gives you a little bit of an idea of what winters have the potential of being down this way.

Hopefully, later today, if I have the time and opportunity I will do my best to post some photos of what an excursion in snowy conditions is like on the Antarctic peninsula. Personally, I love it and wouldn't have it any other way.


IMG_4296-1.jpg
Click image to view full size


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

I think i need to remind myself next time on a cruise at sunset that sometimes i don't need a foreground, or the sea can have beautiful textures... because I really like this shot.

Cheers, mate! I am glad you liked the shot and I know what you mean. I got lucky with this sunset the other evening

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97