a bugs life meets candid camera - the underworld

in #photography5 years ago

image.png
cruddy older shot of buggy habitat, because i forgot to take a new one


Lately I've been an artistic reflective mood, and with the recent two day loss of area wide internet access for unknown reasons - which my landlord assures me is being worked on - I decided to take one of my early evening walks yesterday.

I'm not horribly pleased with the quality on some of these photos, however I might be at fault. I'm pretty sure having to reuse an old video card contributed to that. Note to eejit self: remember to put your video card back into the camera..

Also, I've come to the realization that i really need a tripod if I ever want to get a better shot of my quarry. Trying to take a photo of a flying insect on a thin stalk of grass fluttering in the breeze while bending at an awkward angle is just dumb.

In other words, I'm too old for this crap

A zoom lens wouldn't hurt either.. god, can you please universe gift me a zoom lens?

Below is a collection of (mostly buggy) photos - with a toad and a bunny thrown in for good measure - that i've taken over the past few days. I shall call this series candid snapshots of the underworld.


image.png

a baby toad, (about 1.5 inches long), one of four hiding under a wood ledge near my walkway. this was taken late at night with a flash. i think i traumatized the poor things running around after them with my big camera

image.png
i complained to derangedvisions of not being able to get a good insect shot because they kept wiggling and hopping away. this one crawled right across my computer stand a few hours later, waiting to pose.

image.png

found outside in the yard. i think perhaps the ones that dont move are somehow damaged or asleep. do bugs sleep?

image.png
a local yard bunny. they are starting to make a comeback after disease and poisoning decimated most of the population.


When I go on walks with my camera, I tend to look below the surface of human life, to all of the things that go unnoticed or taken for granted. This requires a slowing down of the senses, a willingness to listen to the song of the grasshopper.


image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png
intermission...

image.png

image.png

image.png
some buggies dont mind posing

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png


thanks for exploring the underworld with me!

image.png

Sort:  

Ooh these are great. My favorite has to be the poser moth who visited your computer stand, really a seductive insect. The dragonfly shots are awesome and I really like the colors of the grasshopper nymph in the last couple pictures.

ya the first grasshopper has all my fave colors - that dark shimmery blue green. they look like they are wearing armor.

Your bug pictures are really good!
I really like dragonflies, there's so many different kinds...
The grasshopper pictures are really good also!

i love the dragonflies but they are amazing difficult to find sitting still and they scare easy. the grasshoppers are hams. i think they live for attention.

Yeah, grasshoppers certainly don't scare as easily...

Personally, I think the images are lovely, and a nice share of your outing... my own efforts with a camera a very similar in that I try to capture everyday objects and what lies beneath the surface of things.

yay! ty denmark guy :) i think we must see things with warped eyes..

Wow , all the cool things you can take in picture outside your house ! And amazing pictures too ...
i am glad your internet was cut off <3<3<3

@torico I love the incepts greetings a great job in documenting these beautiful bugs

medit.gif

I love the incepts greetings a great job in documenting these beautiful bugs

thank you :)

Congratulations @torico! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 25000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @torico, as a holder of TULIPS, you have received a small upvote and this important message.
The TULIP Mania Game will finish during Saturday 7 September, when the final closing price will be published. You must sell your TULIPS during the following 7 days or they will wilt and die.
To stop receiving this messages, please reply to this comment.
Thanks for participating!
Next game will be announced by @Busbecq some days later.

oooh ty for the reminder!! and the love :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

You got some great shots here. You should consider entering some of them in my daily photo contests.

ill have to see if u have one for buggies

Hello @torico!
Thanks for using the realityhubs tag. However, this isn't a review. The realityhubs platform is meant for reviewers.

Do you know that there's a contest going on with 25,000 RHB to be won?

Please read our posting guidelines.

Please ask us questions on Discord

[RealityHubs Moderator]


Posted on RealityHubs - Rewarding Reviewers

i read that you accept posts on nature and photography in your intro post. you could have updated your word choice in your RH blog description, which might have led to less confusion. even reading it now, given what i've been told, i find your wording and premise confusing. i see many other people didn't understand it either, not just me.

fair enough that you down-voted to take the infinitesimal amount of RH reward i might have made, however you also hold 1000 sp in that account and therefore stole the SP that i was awarded elsewhere with that same downvote.

This is unacceptable. I will politely ask you to correct that error. I dare say I probably wont try to tag RH again because Im still not sure what you are looking for.

p.s how does one "review" nature? the premise is ludicrous.

Hi, @torico. First of all, thank you for recognizing and using realityhubs hash-tag. I apologise if you find the introduction post confusing. We got some complaints from other users who shared their concerns about not understand the message on the intro post, we immediately published a more detailed version of what the platform supports here.. RealityHubs is for "reviews" and you are welcome to review just anything. Reviewing something (A toad for example) is not just about introducing it or sharing pictures of it. You need to further evaluate, analyse, inspect what you are reviewing and finally give your verdict or opinion based on your perspective. You do not need to be overly professional, keeping it real, makes your review even more interesting to read and of course, brings value to the ecosystem.

p.s how does one "review" nature? the premise is ludicrous.

While I believe that I have answered this in the first paragraph, I will be more precise here. I will use a toad as an example. There are different types of toad and when you want to "review" a toad, you need to be more specific and informative. There are different species of toad that exist across the continents. That is, the type of toad that can be found somewhere around Asia may likely not be the same type in Africa. There are many things to talk about which includes their behaviours, reactions to weather and so much more. You could also compare the same type of animals from a different continent with your post focus on their survival possibilities in a different kind of weather condition. I am not a zoologist so that all I can explain.

fair enough that you down-voted to take the infinitesimal amount of RH reward I might have made, however, you also hold 1000 sp in that account and therefore stole the SP that I was awarded elsewhere with that same downvote.

Again, I apologise if you feel that your reward got stolen. But that is not the case. I mean, that is obviously not how Steem works. The realityhubs tag was inappropriately used causing us to downvote your post ("Miscategorized content or spam"). If the downvote is for "Stealing" people's reward, then why was it created in the first place? Besides, the reward is not coming to our wallet so I do not consider this action a theft. It is rather appropriate and I am sorry if you find it annoying.

I am always around on our Discord server if you would like to understand more what "review" mean.

Cheers


Posted on RealityHubs - Rewarding Reviewers

when a reader upvotes, the RH tag rewards in token not SP. therefore it would be appropriate for you to downvote with RH token but NOT SP. this can easily be done by reducing the amount of SP in the RH downvote account. since the RH did not award me SP, i see no reason for it to subtract SP. does this make it clearer?

as for your description of "reviewing nature", this is not explained correctly for users of the english language. while the word review makes sense for products, there is no common use of that word in relation to nature. I think the words you are looking for are "a detailed analysis" or "a personal study". the use of review for this type of material will not be generally understood, imho. I suggest you explain this in more detail in a subsequent post, with the example that you gave me. With photographs it is similar. while people might review cameras, or photographers, for photos the words study or analysis would be used.

please see my questions and the reply in the comments section of this post.

https://steempeak.com/steempeak/@themarkymark/some-suggestions-for-steempeak#@themarkymark/pxkroj

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01