Stop Motion turned into Reality

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I've heard this phrase a lot "Disneyland is the happiest place to be.", for a kid who grew up watching Disney characters in a 13" CRT television, it was an understatement.


Last month, I was able to go to Hongkong for a 3-day trip. One of the highlights of this short vacation was when I found myself passed the gates of this famous theme park --Disneyland! As we alight the train, the music from the park welcomed its giddy visitors.

Disneyland in the daylight

6D44359F-DAE9-4172-A7A8-3B18EDE50041.jpg


Everything's just so magical. I loved how they valued the details of the park. From Cinderella's towering castle to the landscape showing Mickey mouse's face and the marching bands that played joyous music along the Main Street lane, every little detail brought a whole lot of my childhood memories into the daylight.

6C86E2BF-7AC2-4E4F-A554-0A6CD89A632D.jpg

And it's not just about the place that excites the people but also the extreme rides that it offers. I particularly enjoyed the HyperSpace Mountain and the Big Grizzly Mountain Runaway Minecars, those two are extreme roller coaster rides! Here's a photo of the ToyStory Land where you can go from one point to another, seated on a coaster that goes up and down the track behind Woody.

Afternoon Parade


PostPro-18.jpg

We spent the whole morning roaming the place and taking delight in the shops. And in the afternoon, the streets were closed to give way for the parade where festive floats fashioned with the afternoon light. Dances were also showed off by the talented performers!

PostPro-20.jpg


Some characters and of course the Disney princesses graced the parade! One of the things I have noticed is that not only the viewers were smiling but even the dancers as they turn and sway to the music.

PostPro-23.jpg

After the parade, I looked for a bench to sit on. I was feeling tired and when I looked at the castle, it was few minutes before the sun sets. The mountains behind made the view more surreal. And at that time, it was announced that Disneyland's celebrating it's first Christmas-themed season thus the lighting of their giant Christmas tree!

Colours Lit the Night


95F355F6-BBB8-4368-8C68-49638C8931F0.jpg

As I wait for the lighting of the Christmas tree, I got myself a postcard and wrote a note on it. I sent it to my home address as a for keep of the things I got to see right in front of me. As I wrote on my postcard, another set of performers sang, it matched the cold breeze of the approaching night.


3.jpg


Of all the parades I have seen in my life, this one's the loveliest! The streetlights were turned off, the music hummed the cold night and the colours lit the night!


When I thought nothing could ever top the night's parade of colours, a few minutes later, Disneyland had its "been known" tradition --fireworks display. All of the Disney movies I have watched since I was a kid, from Mulan to Merida, the soundtracks were aired as fireworks lit the castle's skies.

2.jpg


From daylight to the cold night, it wasn't just a whole lot of joy and happiness brought from when I was kid, but much more. It was a whirlpool of memories that started from a 13" CRT television. I'm definitely going back.


All photos were taken and edited by me.

Sort:  

Fantastic atmospher!

Nice one... is this real life?

Thank you @spooks. Yes it's real.

You take really good photooos. <3 I especially love the candidness of it all, and how you manage to make me feel like I've been there, too. Thanks for sharing.

Disneyland is such a dreamy place! I always wanted to take the MTR there and play hooky during business trips to Hong Kong - looks like a fun twist on the original!

Totally agree with you! @therovingreader, it's worth the side trip next time you go to Hongkong.

Nice post! Would love to follow you!
Please do check out my blog as well!
Here's my new post, let me know if you like it
https://steemit.com/poem/@timesedge/intution-original-poetry

Regards,
Ana

Great post @travelingmercies. As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see this post pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, search for your location, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post (not the comments) to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get a bit lost.
You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

Checked out your project @choogirl! It was so nice, thank you for this! I'm glad to be a part of what you're doing.

You're welcome. You need to edit your post and copy in the code you generate on the map though for it to show up.

I can see you had so much fun..

I did! @asttoldbyv thanks for dropping by.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @travelingmercies to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Photos are pretty awesome!
Would love to follow you!
Do check out my new post as well.
https://steemit.com/poem/@timesedge/intution-original-poetry

Regards,
Ana

Sometimes it seems, that in Disneyland there are more adults than kids. But adults are only grown-up kids, so there is nothing surprsing))

Tnank you for the photos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73