A Walk by a Frozen Lake at the Maryino District (Moscow)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago

I know, I know. On my last post, Old Man by the Lake, there was no lake to be seen. Since that post was for a contest, I didn't include any other shot.

I'll make it right with this article and will finally let you see the lake situated in the Maryino District (район Марьино), a residential area of Moscow (Москва).

k48ne6np75.jpg

Coming from the Metro Station with the same name, Maryino (Марьино), you just need to walk 500 meters to get to this place. You can't miss it.

uzs462j8y3.jpg

Despite being a big lake and the shining sun, the water was frozen solid.

vizk11yf7g.jpg

To the right of the lake, there's a big commercial building that reads Супермаркет Билла (Supermarket Billa). This is an Austrian / German Supermarket Chain and the name means "Cheap Shop" (from the German BILliger LAden).

Well, I don't know about that, it seemed as "cheap" as any other Supermarket I found.

5od1pm19vc.jpg

The lake was completely frozen, which made it shine with the sun, giving the place a lovely atmosphere. All around the lake there were huge residential buildings.

a9mr3jwilz.jpg

In the picture above, can you now see the old man sitting by the lake, @pixelfan?

And on the next shot, can you see him?

qluu8yrbvk.jpg

Hmmm... I better zoom in so you can see him better.

Here's the Old Man from my previous post.

nlt4vf22qw.jpg

This Panasonic camera is small but amazing. The Zoom Quality is light years ahead of the one from my old Canon IXUS 210. Check out these next two shots:

8er4svvm83.jpg

k86rlij3xm.jpg

Amazing details for a compact camera, eh?

If you want to compare the quality, check this post, to see a photo taken from just 10 meters away, with the Canon IXUS 210.


A few steps away, I saw two kids playing over the frozen lake. Can you see all those markings on the ice, as well as the amount of rocks scattered around? If looks like one of the favourite pastimes of Russian kids is trying to break the ice. In a literal way.

5kxutk029q.jpg

... and then the kids noticed I was watching their little play.

kvn1vzu3lx.jpg

Ahahah! They gave me the perfect chance to get a couple of good photos, whether they liked it or not.

7ece2la5yi.jpg

Afterwards, I though they were camera shy and decided to leave...

xtboq662p1.jpg

I mean, I though they were leaving. But I was wrong.

8785kctjbc.jpg

They were just getting ready to run across the frozen lake.

4bho4eeoee.jpg

caiolxwtlz.jpg

3gc5rr7qc5.jpg

bubxfc253o.jpg

It sounds fun, that's for sure. But I wouldn't risk it myself. I'd rather be safe than sorry. So I took the long way around it.

0p1k2fs2vd.jpg

Just a few meters ahead, what do I see? Yes, another couple of teens doing the exact same thing.

yuv97rbqwh.jpg

What's up with these people? Do they have a death wish... or is this a normal thing to do, in Russia?

pu5xpsic1e.jpg

Here's a close-up animation of these two teenagers trying to break the ice.

bisduytaca.gif

Right at the middle of the lake, there was a small strip of water which was not yet frozen.

6sib92o0lf.jpg

Would you risk running across that? Neither did I.

iivpyhzl0l.jpg

And finally, here's an overview of the lake, taken from the opposite side.

hbab958win.jpg

This lake doesn't appear very large in the photos but if you decide to take a stroll around it, starting and ending in the same spot, you'll need to walk at least 35 minutes non-stop to complete your run.


One of the things that I found very weird and peculiar was the amount of cables linking the roofs of these huge residential buildings. You can barely see them here...

v84te8qnxg.jpg

Here are some closer shots. Can you please explain the logic behind this, @apnigrich and @singa?

wstgmc13jm.jpg

pl91lclead.jpg

8fh5mb9qr0.jpg

I have never seen anything like this before... and frankly, it doesn't seem very safe to me. But at least the doves and pigeons were enjoying it a lot. It was like their personal playground.

dfkc7an19a.jpg

Or maybe they were just mouthwatering over the idea of a Milka Chocolate bar. 😅

697yrv300i.jpg

Well, this concluded my walk around the lake and I was back where I started, next to the Супермаркет Билла.
This is where I found the old lady selling some porcelain, I had shown you already in a previous post...

ficdddwazo.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this post... and please don't go risking your life trying to cross a frozen lake, after you read this. That's a stunt you should leave to the professionals. Or to the crazy kids in Russia.


CameraPanasonic Lumix DC-TZ90
LocationMoscow - Russia
Untouched Photos

2e4z02s5fy.gif

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

ахахаха. логика. Это элементарная безалаберность и недосмотр Властей.
Это, скорее всего, кабеля, которые раньше тянули связисты. Может и кабельное телевидение и интернет разных провайдеров.
ahahaha. logic. It is elementary carelessness and oversight of the Authorities.
This is most likely the cable that used to pull the communicators. Can and cable TV and Internet different providers.

Одно слово - БАРДАК!
One word - a MESS!

That's really messy. How come is it allowed!?!? I don't get it, it seems really dangerous.

It's incredible that the sun is out and shining, yet the lake remains frozen but I really wouldn't risk walking on that ice. No nope, I would rather stay safe. Lol! Well, maybe it's not deep enough, and so, when the ice gets warm enough to melt or break apart, the wouldn't be in so much danger... But the cold.... Your photos are great!

I love you footer, it's a cool one!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks a lot for your comment, Audrey!

About my signature, you can talk with @zord189 if you want one, too. He has various colours and styles to choose from. 😉

The first ice is very strong. In spring, even thick ice becomes loose.
In winter the sun does not warm. And sometimes the opposite is true - a Sunny day can get very cold.

I wish we had ice in the pond maybe I should travel to your park

Ah, thanks but you won't find any frozen lakes here. I'm from Portugal, not from Russia. I went there for vacations. 😂

I thought you were still there

ha! I wouldnt trust walking on that lake even though I could see that it was frozen!

I thought the same. 😊
Thanks for stopping by, Alicia.

Nice zoom quality and is that the same woman selling the china, in a post of yours before.

Yes, it is. The link to that post is above the photo! 😉

Hummm that lady is out there every day.
Respect 👍
I am glad they let her be

Ah, ah, she probably is... but I used the same exact photo from before! 😉

Lol
I thought that book looked familiar hahaha
That was some time ago. Memory , check

I also own a Lumix, they are great cameras for starters, mine is a DMC-fz47, great photographies @trincowski

Thanks, I am very happy with my purchase. I never though the Zoom Quality would be this good!!!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trincowski
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-walk-by-a-frozen-lake-at-the-maryino-district-moscow


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @trincowski! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 16500 replies. Your next target is to reach 17000 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

This post had received 13.34% upvote from @steemitportugal account!
Vote for @steemitportugal to Witness. Your vote is very important to us!
Visit our WebSite www.steemitportugal.com (tutorials,news...)
Thank you very much.
Click here to vote
steemitportugal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60782.22
ETH 2915.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64