Pretending to Live the High-Life

in #photography6 years ago

Have you ever wanted to live like the Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous?

Personally, I’d rather live on a farm, but I must say I’ve always been intrigued…

Last Saturday my girlfriend gave me that experience with tickets to the Stahl House located in the Hollywood Hills. Once we stepped on the property we were greeted with this view:

20180108_213653.jpg

My jaw hit the floor. This house was built on the side of a cliff!

As the tour guide started his spiel about how he grew up with the Stahl family, he said, "The Stahl’s want you to feel like you're at home, so everything in here is free to be used. Enjoy."

And enjoy it I did.

20180108_213403.jpg

This was my favorite spot in the house. I sat back and day-dreamed about sipping a sipping a fancy Japanese whiskey while contemplating life's toughest questions.

20180106_172137.jpg

Unfortunately, nothing profound arouse. However, there were two cute birds that kept me company during my quiet contemplation.

20180108_213601.jpg

After getting kicked out of the chair by someone else’s grandma, I ventured into the other rooms. When I entered the dining room, I was greeted by my dad’s mid-century modern dream layout:

20180108_213524.jpg

No room was off limits, not even their bedrooms. A little weird, but I respect their openness. They weren't fancy, but I liked their minimalist vibe. I felt bad that the Stahl kids had to go through the parent's room just to get into their room...

No sneaking out in the middle of the night for those kids…

20180106_164036.jpg

20180106_163507.jpg

As it started getting dark, the colors of the house started to become more vibrant. I was even able to recreate this famous Stahl photo:

20180106_172347.jpg

I learned a valuable lesson on this tour, don’t judge an experience before you live it. I honestly would have balked at the idea of doing this if you asked me a week ago.

I wouldn’t have missed out on something special…

This walkthrough was a trip and I loved every minute of it. If you're ever in the Hollywood area, I highly recommend you check it out.

Thanks for hanging with me on this journey!

20180108_213214.jpg

P.S. What's one activity you've done recently that turned out better than you expected? Leave me a note in the comments, I'd love to hear it!

-Jon

Sort:  

He's back! So glad to see you writing and documenting. Make it a habit...pretty sure I'm not the only one that wants you on Steemit!

Its a total lifetime experienced for you! Living the life of the rich and famous. Its good chapter of your life, seriously @ucsdsu your one lucky guy to have a girlfriend who is very kind and giving!

Hey @nickjon, I'm definitely a lucky guy to have such a great girlfriend! As I get older I find that friendships and family trump all monetary success. I'd rather be poor with a good social group than rich and alone.

Quite true my friend@ucsdsu, riches in the world is temporary! What matters is how live our life...

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ucsdsu to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67079.10
ETH 3488.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22