Travel back in History

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Visiting one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World

Not so long ago we enjoyed some weeks in Turkey - not sure if we may visit this lovely country again. Therefore a small post about one of my favourite travel destination near Izmir.

Ephesus is known as an ancient Greek city at the coast of Ionia. The city was build over 3,000 years ago by Attic and Ionian Greek colonists and became later a part of the Roman Republic.

The ruins are a common target of tourists so we are no exception. In the following some photos I took there after the Goths destroyed the town (the lady in some of the photos belongs to them but is not guilty) in 263 (AD - Ad stands for anno Domini btw - a topic worth another post maybe).

Sort:  

It reminds of my days living in Sicily. I used to love going up to Taormina on Friday nights for dinner.

You lived in Sicily - awesome! BTW - when are you now in Munich over summer?

Thanks for sharing these @uwelang,

I also like to visit historical sites, but even flying via Istanbul these days sounds like a bad idea (I was supposed to do it last year - and I would have done it exactly on the day of the failed coup)

Extreme travel :)

Yeah - currently i would not travel there too :-) -thanks for feeding back and great to have you on steemit

These are great photos ! The view is spectacular :O

Great photos. I love visiting Roman Ruins. We don't have too many in Ireland, maybe that's the reason :)
I have gotten to some all across the middle east and even as far north as Spain. There was an ancient Roman Gold mine in Castille that was priceless to visit. I haven't been to Turkey yet.

I love to watch all kinds of ancient ruins that show a bit still how people lived and built things. Ireland is one of my Top 3 countries to visit one day. Turkey is tricky at the moment so inform yourself before you travel

turkey looks to be a beautiful place.

There are a lot beautiful places, the people are awesome too apart from the political situation currently

great info, didn't know about this place. thanks for sharing

You are welcome, thanks for taking time to reply

this is look like a good place to visit.
but it seems so quite in tour picture. you must have a good times wxploring the place without so much crowd from thw other tourist.

Yes it was not as crowded as usual, probably as we been there during spring time. In summer you can probably hardly move there :-)

Great photos Uwe and nice post!

Unfortunately, regarding the current political situation there, I'm every day more afraid will I have a chance to visit all of that in my lifetime.

Thanks @ana-maria - yeah political situation is dangerous, really dangerous

Maybe you would remember, we were talking about that almost a year ago. (I don't remember anymore where, on which platform.) But, maybe you would recall when I told that key figure there seems to me like a new Hitler and that I can't get rid of that feeling.

Thanks for sharing. I was there last month and loved it. It was such a great experience to see all the ruins and read the history. One of these days I'm going to make time to post some of my photos from the visit. It'll be hard to narrow down from the few hundred I took.

Sounds great, can't wait for your post then.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jul 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.33 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85