Sailing in San Diego

in #photography6 years ago

When I was around fifteen…no, I have to go back even further…Almost as far back as my memory goes, I've had a fascination with the ocean. After watching Free Willy (at three years old) I was obsessed with whales and had a fantasy that I would be shipwrecked, rescued by whales, and they would raise me (kind of like Mowgli and wolves or Tarzan and apes). Fast forward to when I was around fifteen or sixteen and my fantasy of living with whales had turned into a desire to learn how to sail. I wanted to live on a boat and only touch land when absolutely necessary.

IMG_1980.jpg

That dream was short-lived because I realized how unrealistic it was, unless I were rich or joined the Navy. However, I never lost my passion and fascination for the ocean and though I don't live on a boat, I do live with a sailor. Michael surprised me for my birthday with an afternoon of sailing in the San Diego bay and Point Loma area. My first time on a sailboat, and hopefully not my last.

IMG_2233.jpg

While on our afternoon cruise, we saw boats and ships of all shapes and sizes. We saw sea lions napping on buoys, and much to my surprise we even saw a whale. I don't know what was more of a dream come true: sailing or seeing a whale in the wild. It's rare to see a whale in this area at this time of year, so I feel extremely lucky to have caught a glimpse of him.

I won't give a commentary on every picture because I took so many (not even posting all of them). So enjoy the photos from our sailing adventure!

IMG_1685.jpg

IMG_1703.jpg

IMG_1719.jpg

IMG_1705.jpg

IMG_1707.jpg

IMG_1779.jpg

IMG_1780.jpg

IMG_1811.jpg

IMG_1830.jpg

IMG_1843.jpg

IMG_1890.jpg

IMG_1895.jpg

IMG_1902.jpg

IMG_1907.jpg

IMG_1908.jpg

IMG_1968.jpg

IMG_1915.jpg

IMG_1899.jpg

IMG_1930.jpg

IMG_1702.jpg

IMG_2077.jpg

mike and janie sailing.jpg

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Glad to see you finally made it in the open waters! :)

Had a plan to go for sailing in the Adriatic sea - for about 10 days... But somehow for stupid reasons the plan failed (twice) :)
Beautiful photos and Galleon looks mighty!

And you are one beautiful couple, cheers! :)

A ten day sailing trip sounds amazing!

Hi vwd,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Thank you for the support! I'll follow you so I can see the other blogs you promote.

Congratulations @vwd! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

wow that Galleon! looks so majestic! love your post! :)

Thanks! That was one of the highlights of the afternoon! It was like seeing a real pirate ship :)

Awesome photos 👌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00