Color Challenge Monday Red Boathouse in Bay

in #photography6 years ago

Hello everyone! Today is Monday so that means it is #colorchallenge #mondayred photo contest initiated by @kalemandra. This past weekend I when for a little trip to the Bruce Peninsula a beautiful area of Ontario bordered by Lake Huron and Georgian Bay. Our true destination was a small fishing village called "Stokes Bay" I was able to get some nice photographs of different subjects. One of these is old bayside boat houses which are still in use. Pictured here is a boathouse which is probably over 60 years old saying that because it is covered with red Insulbrick. They used this on many building here in Ontario prior to the 1950's.
boathredmon.JPG
Insulbrick is a fibreboard sheathing coated with tar and added granular material, very similar to asphalt shingles. The surface was stamped with a brick or rectangular stone pattern, dyes also would have been added to create a red or green color. Insulbrick is a brand name and was used for all types of asphalt siding.
Here is the front of the boathouse with a picture of the bay facing the Government dock. It amazes me how these boathouses which are submerged in water survive all these years.
boathredmon1.JPG
I had a great weekend in the north county my fathers land I will be posting other neat photos in the near future.
I hope you enjoyed my #MondayRed #Colorchallenge post. Thank You for viewing.
Please view my others post @waterfordguy.
#photography
#worldofphotography
#landscapephotography
#travel
@photocontest
@photofeed
#life
#photo

Sort:  

Gosh that is interesting the boat houses being submerged in water. I suppose you would have to tie the boat down to stop it floating away, and how do they get the boat out when it is low tide?

The boathouse has a cradle that slings at the back and the front of the boat. There is a large metal wheel you turn it and it raises the boat out of the water. The water level doesn't change too much unless there is a storm with huge winds. This is a huge freshwater lake, one of the Great Lakes. Thank You for your interest my friend

Thanks friend for that explanation. I was thinking of a boat being put on a trailer of sorts like they have at our boat clubs.

All boats are removed by trailers at the boat launch after the season when winter hits. The large steel vessels stay in the harbor.

this image remindes me of my vacations to sweden :-) thank you for sharing.. i have got Holiday Feeling Right now :-)

Nice to hear! This is the first time I have been away for years it was a wonderful time. I happy to hear it put you in a holiday mood. Thank You for the support my friend from Germany.

Oh! I love both of these photos! I would love to see that area. Tip!

It is a beautiful area if I had more strength and was just a little younger I would move up there and buy the general store as a business. I love it there.
Thank you so much for the support Melinda

Hi @waterfordguy! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Rust Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Earning daily profit on STEEM.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61135.20
ETH 2928.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66