Touching history - my first digital attempt

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Today I am holding in my hands a Family photo album.
The oldest photo is dated 1864.

The album itself is probably the same age. Soft green velvet, touched by many hands. Traveling from one shelf to another, from one house to another. From their life to mine. Velvet is still soft and looking amazingly good. Pages are clean, with lovely patina, brown spots and dots. My spine is straight, my head is up when I hold it in my hands. What a great feeling. I feel noble. Just like the people from this album. Magic :)

DSCN6514-001 copy.jpg

Faces. Some known to me, some not. Some of them look familiar, others not at all. Behind every face there is a story. Like there is a story behind mine or yours. Some life stories are known to me. At least partly.

Looking at these faces and poses, clothing, smiles, eyes.. sometimes I fall deeper. Like I could step into the scene, smell the air, touch a person sitting there.

DSCN6517 copy.jpg

I was thinking about this album every now and then and wondering what to do with it. Should I do anything at all? But there was something inside me, telling me I have to. Ok. What? Why? How?

About three weeks ago I was searching for something on internet and idea pomped out. What if I scan all those photos, together with lovely carboard frames? Just like I am searching for a suitable photo I would like to use, I guess other people are searching for photos as well. I know this kind of old photos can be used in many ways. Scrapbooking is just one of them.

Last week I scanned the whole album, carefuly. I edit thin background around edges and then tried out some other editting tools. Nice. Good job. Good girl. And with a help of my friend who has more computer skills as I do, album photos are digitalised and ready to be used.

I am glad. I am. It was a turmoil relieved.

Afoto026 copy.jpg

1864 - Hotel Baumann - kitchen personal

I guess with all the old photos, postcards, maps and newspapers that I have, this is just a starting point of my digital history life.

And again I would be glad to get your opinion. I really wish to do good, to offer a good service to all vintage lovers that visit my shop.
If it's not to much to ask I would like to know should I change something in my listings? Should I add different kind of introduction photos? Description is ok?

Click on the link, imagine yourself being a costumer and post your opinion here. This is my first digital project and I would really appriciate your respond.

Link: PDF section - EtsyYNB

Thank you for your contribution with words :)

Sort:  

Good to see that this project also get into Steemit space. I'm proud that I contributed a little to it and hope it get some more attention here.

Upvoted and Resteemed!

p.s. and provide upvote through @minnowbooster by @airbud23

Thanks. For introducing Steemit to me and helping me out, specialy with this first steps as a newbie.

Very Good Photo. Thanks For Share~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56