Is There Such a Thing as Bad Light?

in #photography6 years ago

If it is not a bright sunny day for photography how many times have you heard people say I didn’t bother going out with the camera because the light was bad?

What a poor excuse, overcast days, rainy days and even bright sunny days with no clouds in the sky can be conducive to stunning images.

A grey day with low lying mist can be used to emphasize the subject in the image or add layers, which helps to add depth to the image.


I do not own this image; it was sourced from https://pixabay.com Credit: coombesy

Overcast days produce a flat balanced soft light it is the favoured light for photographers due to the richer colours produced. I t gives the image a more natural look.

Get out with the camera when the storm clouds are in the sky as these help to add mood and tension to the image. Also notice the colours, they have become much richer.


I do not own this image, it was sourced from https://pixabay.com

On a bright sunny summer’s day when there are no clouds in the sky, get the camera out. Yes I know everybody says not to photograph in the middle of the day because of the harsh light, but these can make for fantastic black and white images.

Try experimenting using a long exposure and see what results you get.


I do not own this image; it was sourced from https://pixabay.com Credit: Free-Photos

With longer shutter speeds and smoother water your images could be verging on Fine Art!
For more articles visit my website http://shrewdphotography.com/

Sort:  

Bad light in regards to photography I may say yes, but instead of bad light I would like to say poor light, or faint light, the picture above are really beautiful and natural especially the second one.

Yes bestgift I agree with you, but many photographers use the excuse "the light was bad" and prefer to stay at home in their comfy chair and warm house whilst missing great opportunities to get out and capture moody, atmospheric images that are more engaging to the viewer than the everyday run of the mill shots.

I'm just trying to show those who are new to photography ways to use the light through my short articles.

Thanks for your comment, appreciate it ;)

Very nice foggy photo

Thank you but unfortunately its not mine, I got it from pixabay.com just to give a visual illustration to the post.

Still is a nice photo :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75