You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Become like water

in #photography5 years ago

Quoting the late, great Bruce Lee

Many kudos for that. I had a Sergeant in the service, who always, always, said, "to know a thing, you must understand a thing"

This was in a Artillery Unit, and he strived to focus on "crew drills"... it was his dogmatic dictum to have every single one of us, know everything about... well, everything. Should one of us get killed, the others must be able to step right in, and continue the mission.

Mind you; the idea of having a profession that led to conversations like, "so... what do you do for a living?"....

I go to Countries that don't want us there, destroy their homes... and kill them...

Not my karma I wanted. I didn't see the sand, thank God... anyway...

Another great post... look forward to seeing more. And now... I must get some rest...

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I can't really imagine what it would be like in war thankfully, and I am lucky to be born where I was. It is incredible how much of our lives come down to factors we have no chance to choose.

I train at a business level a similar kind of thinking as your sergeant, flexibility, adaptivity and the ability to do the job, regardless of the immediate conditions. In your case, lives depended on it.

Don't let me paint some glorious picture... I had a "friend" from Basic Training mysteriously show up with us in Germany. If I would have been smart then like I am now... I would have realized I was being set up...
That "friend" was a CID nark... (Central Intelligence Division)... he brought a joint into the room, and I figured...one hit...why not My goodness did that initiate a WHOLE new can of beans.. but regardless, I am still here today, for those choices, and the actions that were set in motion...

But as far as the flexibility, adaptivity, and what not... it honestly makes sense, AND makes things so much easier... whether it be in a job, or life...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71