Baby Chameleons - Delights found in the garden

in #photography6 years ago

It is summer here in the southern hemisphere and reptiles are all getting more active.

I've recently spotted quite a few very small Cape Dwarf Chameleons, obviously newly born.

Cape Dwarf Chameleons are ovoviviparous, meaning that the parents hatch the eggs inside their body and they are actually born live. Once born thought, they are pretty much left on their own, with no parental care.

Here is one of the first ones I found on a geranium plant. You can see how tiny he is in comparison to my hand (and I have very small hands).

IMG_3257.JPG

You can compare to a bigger, adult one that I found and documented in this post here:
https://steemit.com/chameleon/@whistlejacket/cape-dwarf-chameleon

IMG_3264.JPG

Then I found another one yesterday and photographed him on a white agapanthus. This one is more in a brown stage of camouflage, than the bright green one in the first photo.

IMG_20171215_163034.jpg

IMG_20171215_163213.jpg

IMG_20171215_163131.jpg

I just love them and I hope they stay happily in my garden for a long time.

Sort:  

Very beautiful flowers, a chameleon and a magnificent mistress of the garden

You are too kind.

How wonderful! I'd love to find babies like this in my garden! Love love love!

They are very special. This particular species only occurs in the fynbos region (western Cape of South Africa).

They are too cute

Congratulations @whistlejacket! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73