Book Cover Photoshoot: Thrillers

in #photography6 years ago

_MG_5327.JPG

I still don't have a studio space set up in my home. It has been slow getting things unpacked and finding storage for all my stuff. So I haven't been able to do any video tutorials or streaming, and I am trying to get some work in even though things are still chaos. I decided the best thing for me to do is keep doing still life photos for book covers. If I grab just a couple items, and spend an hour shooting them I am able to get some content added to my gallery on a regular basis.

_MG_5315.JPG

Today I focused on shooting for thriller book covers. I mixed up some fake blood with water, cornstarch and food coloring (red and brown). I took the items I gathered and my fake blood out into the back yard to shoot.

_MG_5339.JPG
I bought just a cheap mirror from the dollar store and used clear tape on both sides to seal it before dropping it flat on pavement to break it. It works like a charm and even though you can see lines in the images from today it only takes a minute or two to edit them out in photoshop.

I have used this broken mirror a couple times now, and it has already been on a book cover. You can see here how it looks once the lines are edited out on this finished cover.
L-ombre-de-l-autre-femme.jpg

I also grabbed a mask to shoot with _MG_5379.JPG

and a magnifying glass
_MG_5385.JPG

I also used a pizza box that caught my eye from my recycling bin to pretend it is a wall or something.
_MG_5364.JPG

It's simple enough to remove the "please recycle" and I might even add wallpaper to make it even more realistic looking.

I'm not sure why all my images are loading in a horizontal format today, typically they are vertical like book covers...but whatever its mercury retrograde or something right? Weird technology issues are like a thing or so I am told, so I guess I will let it go and hope its resolved next time I post.

Off to edit these pics and upload them for submission!!

vanessa3.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @wildempress, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60