Day Dreaming : Fantasy Photography

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

moonisbrighttonight.jpg
I have this really cool new chair, I have been dying to take it out in the woods and do a shoot, unfortunately I have had this lingering cold forever and just can't seem to justify spending the day out in the woods using up precious energy that I need to do things like take care of my kids and keep this house in running order.

_MG_6695.JPG
My lovely lovely chair

It's like painful for me to not create though, so I decided today that I would do a shoot themed off of what I am going through. I am here at home, chilling in my PJs but mentally I am far far away. In the woods, in the water, in space...anywhere else!
intothewoods.jpg
So I spent the morning climbing around in the comfort of my own bedroom. That is one thing I love about the kind of photography I do. With composite photography you can literally make anything around you become magcial.

I just had to do one with my teddy bear, his name is Nicholas and I got him when I was about 8 or 9 years old. He's been my favorite ever since, even though now my 7 year old 'borrows' him every single day...he is still mine!

rainbowdreams.jpg
Also as a child I always dreamed of catching a rainbow, not to get the gold but to be IN the colors. I would imagine myself bathed in streams of color, dancing around, reaching my hands into the green, the blue...in my mind it seemed so magical! I love creating things that I use to daydream of as a child. It makes it feel so much more authentic to who I am.

It was snowing outside today, so yeah...a nap on a warm beach would be amazing!mermaiddreams.jpg

I actually shot the mermaid pieces a few years ago. I was doing a vintage carnival sideshow theme...I reused the body piece of the image.
vintagemermaid.jpg

driftingaway.jpg

In this collage you can see some of the before images. This one was probably the most complicated composite today. I spent a bit of time taking the rocks out of the water for the top layer that went over the blanket. It wouldn't make sense to see rocks on the blanket, but I still needed the same watery reflection. It is a really small detail that a even a keen eye might miss, but at the same time could leave the viewer feeling like something isn't quite right. I also had to add the shadow in the water to make it look like the bed was floating.

watercollage.jpg

As usual the before images aren't really anything special, really kind of boring actually.

_MG_6624.JPG

It was nice to be able to do some photos, without having to leave my house. As fun as it was to get some creativity out I am still not quite satisfied, and I probably won't be until I get to take that chair out and shoot with it!_MG_6684.JPG!
_MG_6673.JPG
_MG_6654.JPG

Maybe the cherry blossoms will be blooming by the time I take my chair out for photos...that could be cool. Spring break is coming up quick too, so that might mean more photos of my kiddos!

If you are a composite photographer, I would LOVE to connect with you. Leave me a comment so I can check out your work!!

vanessa3.jpg

Sort:  

Mermaid photo is my favourite! :)

Mermaids are awesome. I was convinced as a child that because Ariel got to be human, that one human should get to be a mermaid (and that human should’ve been me🤣😂)

Really evocative, as lucid dreamer felt a familiar feeling. ❤️ Sweet dreams

These are really cool. That mermaid photo is amazing!

☺️ thank you!!

Really interesting stuff! I love the creativity and imagination going into each and every one of these photos! I run a multimedia art competition that I’d love for you to enter something into, you can check it out on my blog if you’re so inclined. Either way, followed and excited to see more! @lilyraabe

Thank you! I will definitely check it out!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wildempress from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You made me smile :)

great set.

takes you into the feeling. I truly enjoyed the journey with you.

Thank you 😊

Gorgeous photos, this definitely deserved a curie! :D

Thank you, so exciting 😊

These are beautiful! I'm in love with one with the bed in the lake and the one with the foggy forest scene.

You must be a nature lover 🌲🌲🌲

Beautiful dreams, beautiful!
Wonderful work you've done.
I love these, that floating bed......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60