Freebie Friday

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

_MG_5308.jpg

Hello!

Last night I painted a page of paper with black watercolor. The reason I did this was so that I could scan the painting and use it as a texture in my photos.

IMG_20180216_0001.jpg

I figured it would be nice to share so I have cleaned this up and bit by taking out the edges and put it in a shareable link for anyone to download and use. Bonus, I inverted it so you have the same texture in white.

Link at bottom of article!

watercolortexture.jpg
invert.jpg

I've actually done this before with some smoke overlays, and when I went to add these I noticed someone had REMOVED the smoke from the folder, so please make sure you are not removing these images.
If that happens and you go to get these and they aren't there I would appreciate it if you would let me know so I can add them again.

I use google drive, but if anyone knows of a better way, that makes it possible for people to download the image but not remove it altogether, I am all ears.

Are you wondering what the heck a texture is? Well you can add these as a new layer in Photoshop and change the blend mode. I usually change it to 'soft light' and it gives it a textured effect.
watercolortextureinverted.jpgpaintedlandscape.jpg

I usually do not use textures in my images, mostly because I submit to book covers, and a texture is something the jacket designer could easily add if they wanted, but not so easily remove. But sometimes if I am working on a personal image I will. My preference is for images that are more landscape rather than portrait, but you can do whatever you like.

Here it is:

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1GaGDp2U2lyniw3zju2iiN4QtG5FHkasd?usp=sharing

I probably will not do a freebie Friday every week, because I will just run out of stuff quickly, but every now and then you can expect a happy little surprise.
Enjoy!
And feel free to post in the comments what you use the textures on, I would love to see!!
vanessa3.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56