Picture of the Day

in #photography6 years ago

Alpabzug in Urnäsch

I love Switzerland, I love it's traditions, I love it's nature, I love the people, I love it's mountains ... I love everything about it!

In the summers it gets quite hot in the lower parts of the country, for this reason the farmers take their cows, goats and other animals up on the mountains around May, that way the animals have it nice and comfortable during the hot summer months. Sometime in September they get the animals down to the 'main' farms again.

To mark the occasion of this they organise farmers markets, where they sell the produce of these animals such as cheeses, dried meats and other local specialities. Combined with lots of food and activities for kids these are big events and depending on where you go there will be different customs and traditions.

The nicest thing about these events in my opinion is where the procession that comes down from the mountain enters the village. Depending on where you go, there will be different clothing traditions and ways they 'dress-up/decorate' the cows and other animals.

Ever since I learnt about this tradition I wanted to witness it and when I did for the first time in 2014, I was not disappointed.

The picture I select for today depicts this event. We were in the village of Urnäsch in the province of Appenzell Ausserrhoden. In the forefront you see a procession of goats driven by children, who participate as much as the adults do. On the background you see the farmers in their yellow trousers, white shirts, red vests and black hats a dress that is matched by the boy in the forefront herding the goats.

In many places the cows are also decorated or dressed up. In Appenzell it is a bit more minimalistic, but if you would go to Emmenthal they would dress them up with huge flowerworks for example.

IMG_9606.JPG

If you ever come to Switzerland, try to time it with these events, they are worldfamous and a once in a lifetime opportunity.

Doron

!steemitworldmap 47.31715176613422 lat 9.282503130551731 long Urnäsch, AR D3SCR

Sort:  

Switzerland it's a small country with big heritages

And I love it!

Nice post!!!

I spent two summers living and working in Switzerland. I love the country although the Swiss themselves are more than a bit weird. Frosty to start off with, until you get to know them, and then you realise that they are just a little crazy, and have the most amazing traditions and customs. Carnival time (Fasnacht) is nuts, actually happening next week in Lucerne if anyone is around the Lake Lucerne area. Well worth going to see - you won't forget it...

Yeah the ones in lucerne go really nuts about the Fasnacht :-) you picked the ones that celebrate this time of year the most. In bern it is not that bid of a deal. The Zibelerit (onionmarket) once a year is where the berner go nuts!
Frosty is probably the best description of a swissman. Nailed it!

Carnaval time is now upon us, fantastic time of the year, but it's extremely cold now.

Yes these Alpabzüge are very traditional and beautiful to see. I've seen s lot as a child bit recently not so much. Good reminder for next year since I'm closer than ever to the mountains right now.
Cheers!

We wanted to go to Ennetbürgen last year, but we were struck with illnesses, so we had to pass on them this year. Whereabouts are you?

Switzerland seem like a nice place to visit! Great post!

It's fantastic. Expensive to stay, but cheap to enjoy yourself.

Ist das eine zeitliche versetzte Gegenveranstaltung zum almabtrieb 😀

Ich glaube es ist das Gleiche. In der Schweiz nennt man es Alpabzug und in andere orte wahrscheinlich almabtrieb. Es findet auch am gleichen Zeit statt.

Wow..... Beautiful.
Is this extremely your image..? I mean You took this shot...?
mind blowing and extraordinary.
looking like such a good creation..!!
You are a genius artist.
Keep it up I want your bright future in photography.
I conjointly do photography. is also not therefore sensible such as you however I've such a lot interest on photography. I take shot virtually everything I see nice.
you can visit my web log
@wolfje

Yes, I took them all myself. At that time I used my real camera more. Lately I'm more into taking pictures with my iPhone.

Wow! love to go there! I wan to experience the alps. By the way, I have also my travel blog. If you can check that one out, it would be much appreciated.
https://steemit.com/travel/@engrdrdarwin/welcome-myself-to-baguio

its a shame i grew up in switzerland and have never been to a event like this! marked them now in my calendar: https://www.myswitzerland.com/de-ch/veranstaltungen.html?strubrik=2312

Are you familiar with this website: http://www.lebendige-traditionen.ch/ I love it!

Wow, love the talk! Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87