Fiat Coins vs Crypto - Is Money a Collectable Now?

in #photography6 years ago

So I used to collect coins as a kid. My parents would travel and bring back change from every trip. I had a few rare ones mixed in, old coins, and some found artifacts from the Middle East. Are we heading shortly toward a completely digital world? Are all these coins just souvenirs?

IMG_8904.JPG

The value of a Penny is no longer worth the copper and effort it takes to make them. Our default world is coming to an end. Tangible goods are quickly becoming obsolete in this digital age. The made up drawings of bit coin are going to be our new reality as we de/evolve more and more into bits and bytes.

Check out this old Palestine token from 1940 right next to newer Israeli lira. Crazy how fast times change.

IMG_8906.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @woodrow, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 2658 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1803.84. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Great thought towards the idea. Makes me wonder if the odd coins I have are going to still be worth collecting or should I just sell them off and use it to invest in crypto instead and make it 1 less thing to keep track of physically for value

The trouble is, at least for me, if you have been doing it for awhile or even more to the point, got it all from a parent or grandparent, the stuff is heavy. And if you don't know what's in that pile, just when are you gonna have that kind of time. The way I approach it, do nothing, keep it. If some day it becomes worth it, look through it and categorize. If it never happens, leave it to your children. Peace and Happiness.

Mine is from every time I fill a change jar. Otherwise its the stuff people give me from trips or I find on the ground. Its not much but enough to have value of some kind. But it takes space and as you say gets heavy. I don't have kids to pass it down to but collections are same as investments in my opinion too. Makes it a hard decision to keep, sell or trade.

Absolutely ! But when things become digital or more precisely when things become virtual , Fraud becomes much easier than ancient days.. I m much against ATM system and here it came with crypto.. I have coins of different countries which is my hobby to collect now i will take pictures of crypto currency..

I have thought the same. I have been collecting for my children for the last 28 yrs and was think to myself are they going to be worth more or will they became worthless.

Tangible goods are the only real value.
We need land, healthy food, clean water, fresh air, and each other.
Everything else is just a means to that end.

Those who try to manipulate the masses perception of value,
do so, to deprive us of the very things that give us life, and to prevent us from making any real change in this world.

You have a right to Life, Liberty, and Property!

Very well said my man!

Let's all hope... If fiat blows up, then their power over us will diminish. The reset might be tough, but its better than being a slave!

Crypto is more like a power in one man hands.. whenever he took a remote and deprived us from our virtual wealth we would have a work that would be just crying and nothing more could we do .

Any store of value outside the system is something that reduces your reliance on the system. ;)

Great explanation...

Awesome photographer has been very nice thanks to give you such a beautiful photo in front of us

You make a good point; Canada already stopped making new pennies, I am surprised the US has not followed suit. Even now that pennies are mostly zinc and not copper it still costs over a cent to make them... We should stop making new ones and just round up, eventually they will dwindle out of circulation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84