Holey Rusty Metal!

in #photography5 years ago

I came across this rusty red piece of metal on a recent bike ride and, for some reason, became somewhat infatuated by it. It's essentially directly on the other side of the path from NCC Potter's Field.

_DSC5964.JPG

I'm not sure the purpose of this little splotch of land other than that it is likely owned by the county. It seems just out of place, but perhaps a great place for a Halloween party. And this metal slab... is just fascinating.

_DSC5966.JPG

_DSC5967.JPG

Thinking about it now, there are railroad tracks for both Amtrak and CSX nearby, so this may be remnants of something they had done at one point.

_DSC5968.JPG

Just in case it was not obvious, there are signs that there is, in fact, live wire overhead. As if the huge towers and humming wire wasn't enough of a clue.

_DSC5972.JPG

I can't help but wonder the course of events that brought this simple, single slab of metal to this location to sit out in the sun on its own to rust away. It doesn't look too terribly old. I just have no idea what it could have been used for.

_DSC5974.JPG

I cannot claim ownership of the piece, but I will submit this as a photo piece for #rustartwednesday hosted by @erikah.

(c) All images and photographs, unless otherwise specified, are created and owned by me.
(c) Victor Wiebe

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

Interesting piece in the middle of no where.

It really is. I don't think it was intended to be a piece of art, but I think that's what it has turned into.

That’s an interesting slab of rusty metal, @wwwiebe. It’s surprising what one sees out on the trails. 😊

Right?? I'm wondering if it'd be worth my time to find out who is responsible for that small tract of land to see about getting permission to turn it into a sculpture garden.

It seems to be one of the supports of an electricity tower, these are used to tension the poles!

That might be exactly what it is! Good insight!

This post has been manually curated by PhotoStream: The Photography Tribe!

banner 1.jpg

Congratulations, keep up the great work!

Join Photostreem DISCORD

Thank you very much!

Congratulations @wwwiebe! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 900 replies. Your next target is to reach 1000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Howdy sir wwwiebe! Rust art is what many on here would consider that piece for sure. I think steemit has an unusually high percentage of rust lovers. lol. I have no idea if that is good or bad but that place where the metal piece is located looks rather forlorn. I bet it fell off a truck hauling scrap somewhere.

Yeah, you know, regardless of it's origins, I think I like where it landed, and I'm still really fascinated by it, though I have absolutely no idea why. It's just neat.

I wonder if it will be there the next time you ride by? When are you going on that path again? I'd say take it home with you but it looks like it weighs a ton! lol.

Yeah, I didn't even try to pick it up. The last thing I needed to do was throw my back out when out on a solo ride! lol. What would be really neat is if I could find who owns that little splotch of land and see if they'd be willing to turn it into a sculpture park. I think that could be neat.

oh, that's a good idea...turn a desolate looking place into a park! I can see that happening.

I love the textures on it, the colors. Have you seen @papilloncharity's post that was curated by @curangel, along with this one? It's about some fellows who make astounding sculptures from junked cars.

I'll admit to having a strange fascination with this piece. I'm thinking it's because it's so out of place it was neat to find.

I haven't seen that post yet, but I'm going to look now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88