Exploring Hell's Gate

in #photography6 years ago

One of the more interesting and creepy places to explore in Columbus is a series of underground tunnels that can be entered by way of an entrance called Hell's Gates (not sure where that name came from, but it definitely adds to the creepy factor). @aweber and I and a few others went to explore this area a while ago and had fun taking pictures and hiking around underground. I'm sure all kinds of interesting things have happened in those tunnels, but sadly we'll probably never know! There's a lot of interesting graffiti and artwork on the walls in the tunnel. It's definitely worth checking out if you're ever in the area and aren't creeped out by being underground in the dark.

Here are a few pictures from the day. Hope you enjoy!

Ominous
edit-6617.jpg

One of the many entrances
edit-6588.jpg

This exit actually comes out to the Olentangy River, which was a fun surprise
edit-6592.jpg

@aweber checking out the lay of the land
edit-6585.jpg

Looking out on the Olentangy
edit-6587.jpg

Another entrance
edit-6589.jpg

Tunnel Vision
edit-6609.jpg

That's all for now! Thanks for reading. Would you go in the tunnels if given the chance?

Sort:  

Congratulations @yumyumseth, this post is the ninth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 3429 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $6264.99. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Hey we should go here again.

Hey I'd go there with you @jrue! Not sure if I trust @yumyumseth enough though.... *wink

blink blink

Let me know if you do—I’d be interested. This is Hans, btw.

Whoa, welcome my son! You should of told us you were here!

Sorry--just saw this. It was originally part of my experiment to try to go without that, but then I was like, "Eh, I like my friends, and they do cool stuff," so here we are.

Wahoo! Welcome! :)

The first photo tho!!! Ooooh! Love these.

Hey thanks! appreciate it :)

This one definitely deserves the upvote! Amazing shot and work of art!. I love how you showed the behind the scenes of the shot. There are two sides of the camera lens and on every side you'll find it really interesting :) This is the very reason I'm so into photography

Thank you very much! I'll give you a follow and look forward to seeing your pictures!

That's super awesome! Thanks!

Amazing work: upvoted, followed & re-steemed

Thanks! I appreciate that!

Hey, nice frames you have here. I really liked the first picture, with the person standing right in the middle of the pipe. The walls are very interesting to me, because they are at first sight looking like mirrors. It's probably because of the high contrast in the frame. The highlights of the tags are producing this illusion to me. Very cool!

Thanks! I appreciate the detailed feedback.

Great share! I like urban exploration, some places can be more dangerous to wander into than others though. Glad you guys were safe!

Thanks! Yeah, definitely wouldn't want to go there alone haha.

Looks great in during the day, hope it's not dangerous at night. Awesome work

Yeah I've heard bad things about it during the night, haha. Definitely wouldn't go there then.

I agree haha

I shot a music video inside one of those tunnels! It wasn't painted up as nice, but still eerie enough to get a point across... I'll go ahead and put a youturd link to it, since it is relevant to the post... I am a strong opponent of spam, and this is not that...

Interesting and good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57592.54
ETH 2911.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67