Only Memories Cling To This Washing Line

in #photography6 years ago

steemit-posts-28.jpg

My Nanny's (grandmother's) backyard in Tucson, Arizona – unkempt and overgrown.

She's been gone a long time now, yet the few photos I took during my last visit with her in 2007 – this being one of those – still afford me some sense of being near her.

It's the littlest details – the most seemingly insignificant thingsechoes of a life and its everyday meaning – that somehow become the most precious.


Thank you @claudiaz for this unexpected subject matter as a photo-challenge. Quite serendipitously, I'd already been considering this image for posting this weekend.

camera: Canon EOS 5D
lens: 50mmf1.4
specs: ISO 125 - f1.4 - 1/320 sec
date: 15 November 2007

Sort:  

Perfectly right angle to shoot these lines from. Love what you choose to put the focus point on. (the wire spikes) nice atmosphere!!


t.

I appreciate your attention to detail – my focal point was, indeed, the clothespins at the center of the left wire. ;)

Such a lovely, quiet, meditative shot, and I love the story to go with it. It's interesting- today I too was thinking about my grandmother. Rummaging through an old hard drive looking for a particular shot, I stumbled across old photos of her that I took a few years ago... not long before her health took a rapid decline and she passed. It's amazing how something like that can stop you in your tracks. Photographs are so important.... as a great portrait photographer likes so say... "Exist in photographs.". Cheers!

That's totally how it goes – the photo carries with it a whole string of stories. One iteration of my photo business was 'The Memory Jars'. I loved the double meaning – that photos both carry and jar one's memory. I've been gently considering reviving that name, as an offshoot of my primary work. • Lovely to know we were both steeping in grandmother love this weekend. ;)

Cool shot. Saw your work on photofeed. Nice to see some fellow photographers up on the Steemit !

Thanks and Likewise! Honestly, it's why I joined. My partner kept showing me posts worth crazy amounts, with really quite unremarkable content. Seemed like a good idea to get in here and start sprinklin' some beauty everywhere I can. Grateful for @photocontests and @photofeed for makin' it so easy to plug right in as well as revealing the other talents hidden beneath all the left-brained, crypto noise.

nice showing of simplicity in chaos

Nice perspective – hadn't thought of it that way...

stunning point of view

Thank you @victorbz! I'm glad to know you appreciate it...

I'm a believer in the power of physical place. It's very endearing that you were drawn to revisit there and this specific object to feel near to your grandmother. When my own grandmother passed away, I knew I wanted to capture her kitchen in my memory before my grandfather removed anything.IMG_8142.jpg
Thanks for sharing!

I love this snapshot. <3 I also took photos of her kitchen that day. It was an embarrassing mess that made my heart ache deeply for her. Something about the state of her environment highlighted the loneliness her life had come to represent. Isn't it fascinating how much one can read into the details of another's life through such photos? thank you for sharing a piece of your Grandmother's story with me.

This is my new account, btw. Moved to this username a couple weeks ago.

It is fascinating. Looking back at the pictures I took, I was definitely not in a photographers' mindset. I really didn't capture how being there makes me feel. Maybe I never really could though. Thanks for checking back on the post!

Of course! I'm not sure a photo ever can convey the truest essence of an experience. At best, they are signposts, showing us how to remember a thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56