Project #PhotoGuides (4) | The Birding Paradise of Pong Dam

in #photoguides6 years ago

Pong Dam is a man made reservoir in Himachal Pradesh that seems to have no end at all. Come winters and the wetlands of Pong Dam are flocked by thousands of migratory birds who fly down from the high lands of Central Asia in general and Serbia in specific to spend their winters here in the wetland.

From November to January, the Pong Wetland becomes a learning school for birding enthusiasts. It has been reported that over 20 thousand birds visited this area during last few years and the number is growing at a steady pace.

There are plenty of stay options around this place and one can actually explore the whole wetland region on a boat. Though it is advisable to spend at least two days in the wetland region to see the awesomeness of this man made wonder.


Pong Wetland in Summers - Receding Waters give way to agricultural land



Migratory Birds at Pong Dam



Pong Dam


If you are interested in more details, you can refer my detailed travel guide for Pong Dam Lake.

Close by are a series of seven temples that remain underwater during winters and come out during summers. But we will talk about them afterwards in another post.


LocationKangra Valley, Himachal Pradesh - India
Number of Days3-4days ex. Delhi, Motorable Road to the Wetland
Primary Trip AudienceBirding Enthusiasts, Photographers, Wildlife Enthusiasts.
Budget Range$150 - $250
Altitude400 Mtrs
Best Time to TravelSeptember to January

About #PhotoGuides

#PhotoGuides is a travel and photo series initiative by @devilonwheels & @goel.tarun. It is dedicated to introducing some of the amazing places on this earth to everyone on Steemit. Places that make you get out of your couch and wander in this beautiful world. It is a small attempt from my side to share my travel knowledge on Steemit and help promote some of the remotest yet most beautiful places I/we have visited in the Himalayas and elsewhere. I hope you love and plan your trips to these places in time to come. If you have any questions or doubts in planning such a trip, I will be happy to help you here.

Can I participate in #PhotoGuides?

If you know about such amazing places and wish to contribute in this series, I will request you to use this #PhotoGuides tag so that it helps all fellow Steemians to refer such wonderful places of this earth under one tag. Also, if possible, I will request you to share some quick facts about the place you are sharing in above format to keep the travel information simple and concise.

What do I get in return?

Well, I believe, as much as you love to share your travel knowledge and wonderful places you have visited with fellow Steemians, you may feel more motivated if there are some rewards in it, too (and we all do). As of today, we may not have enough Steem Power to hold a contest or reward you with some heavy upvotes for your contributions. However, I do ensure that we will look forward to your post as loyal readers under the #PhotoGuides tag and if it is worth enough, will upvote with whatever little worth of vote we have with my current and future Steem Power 😎😎


Sort:  

I have never been there and this place is mentioned in my bucket list. Soon I'll be there. Nice information and photos. Thanks for sharing.

You made an amazing content, We sould connect and support each other by follow each other. I already following you, please think about that. My apologize if I sent this post to you already.Thanks and greeting from @chanthasam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62