Rags: clothes and thoughts

in #photomag6 years ago (edited)

So I've been selling my Fuji gear. Actually, it's all sold out. Lost some joy while being preoccupied with accessorizing my camera. Lenses, f-stops, sensors. Photography isn't about all this. And I had to shook things up.

I've been asking myself many times "What do I want? What do I aim for? What am I trying to achieve?". I am not an artist. Hardly. But I do know one simple truth: taking pictures, framing and stopping time, brings me that flicker of happiness, that kind of happiness that its intimate, yours, not shared with anyone. An inner joy.

For this to happen, my camera needs to be specifically designed to be with me 24/7. This is how I work. For me, photography is not a premeditated intent of going next weekend to photograph the Dolomites. It is just a spontaneous appendix of my soul. I need to be able to frame things while I am passing through the most inert and boring stages of my day. Like going to work, coming from work, working, etc.

So, that brings me to the ever-cliche questions: what camera do I need? Does it matter? If photography is about expressing yourself, what role does gear have in a matter that is purely mind and soul related?

My camera needs to be pocketable. Needs to have a decent amount of tech in it to allow me to focus on taking the picture, rather than struggle to get it in focus. So needs to be fast, small and to output quality out of camera JPEGs. Looked on the market. Fuji has a specifically designed series for this: X100t, XF70. But they are still bulky for my taste. Then I remembered that in the film days there was this little gem from a company named Ricoh. The GR series. For me, it is perfect. Its digital brother is small, truly pocketable, great fixed 28mm f2.8 lens.

So I decided to wait for Photokina 2018, which will take place between 26th and 29th of September, based on the rumor that Ricoh might be releasing its third iteration of the digital GR series.

For anyone interested in this little gem here's a link to Ricoh GR II. Also, if you have any bits of advices, thought or opinion on this matter, feel free to drop me a line, as I am highly open to suggestions.

Now for the photography part, will let you with a dear subject of mine in what I photograph: rags. Things we wear, things we throw, with their ever-colored joy or sadness.


DSCF7413.jpg


DSCF7421.jpg


DSCF7420.jpg


DSCF7418.jpg


20170922-DSCF2515.jpg


DSCF6752.jpg


20170401-DSCF4399.jpg


20170616-DSCF9359.jpg


20170407-DSCF4705.jpg

Sort:  

Huawei P20 PRO... “best camera is the one you have in your pocket” :). Still, I believe that a big part of photography done by camera (mirrorless/DSLR) is eyeing the frame through the view finder, holding the camera in that classical position and feeling the mechanics once you press the shutter. Of course, photography is a very complex set of factors and expressions and there’s no recipe about it but I know that walking with the bulky dslr strapped to my neck is also part of a certain style of living and this situation itself is a “story maker”.

I share your philosophy towards photography. Where's the art in photographing the Dolomites? Every moron can shoot at least decent photo in stunning place. But capturing the mundane and ugly around us - there's poetry.
As for minimisation, I can't get used to smartphone cameras' focal length. That's why I'm carrying DSLR around in a backpack :)

Hey dude, that is a wonderful collection of rugs! I love that you threw in this black and white shot from the store in the middle :)

As for cameras, the little Lumix GX9 is something that I have been eyeing lately. Not that it's much smaller than my G85, but it doesn't have an articulating screen, which makes it easier to shoot from the hip. But then a gain, I am not much of a street photographer, lol :)

Didn't you say that you want to wait for the new XT-3?

Hi, man! Well, technically yes. I was waiting for XT3. And, if you read the first hands-on reviews, XT-3 is a beast. But still I wondered, will I be able to carry it with me all the time? :(

I think so, given you only carry 1 prime lens with you - let's say the 23mm f/2 :)

I share the same thoughts with you about photography.
photography is not only connected to equipment. The meaning and point of view we add to the photograph is always more important. I loved the shots very much. cool photos. congratulations dear friend!

Congratulations @catalincernat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @catalincernat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @catalincernat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @catalincernat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @catalincernat! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @catalincernat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 18000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 19000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99