The Best of All the Nights (Part 1) - Across Canada, Day 36 of 92

in #photomag6 years ago

20171012.jpg

Under the clear skies of Kluane National Park in Northern Canada's Yukon Territory I witnessed the most fantastic display of Aurora Borealis I have ever seen or imagined. For four and more hours it danced and endlessly painted its greens and purples across the heavens. Like a stormy ocean it came in waves. There were long periods of sustained movement, then lulls, then now and then it would burst forth with unimaginable ferocity. I drove and ran around with a camera capturing all that I could under the mind-numbingly magical brightness. It wasn't just to the north - it was all over, east and west and south, moving around and across all 360 degrees of sky. When it arched across like this my Rokinon 14mm lens was not nearly wide enough - even this 4-frame pano taken with that lens fails to feature the full extent of the band.

I will never forget it, but if I didn't have the pictures I may still not believe it. And if you're thinking I overenhanced the colors in post, let me assure you that this is one of the least-processed images I've shared. Here's one of the unedited RAW files that comprised the pano above (8 seconds @ f/4.8 and ISO 2200 on the Nikon 750):

201710122.jpg

Sort:  

Amazing! I like your description too.

Beautiful oxygen lines! <3 <3

Great shots!

💪🤤 And the 100 percent jealousy is complete. I have not other words... I'm sorry!

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, no, I'm sorry!

Nice. Was KP6 (G2) for about 12 hours last night and we had 15cm of snow lol!!

15cm of snow is fine if it's already on the ground...

How amazing!!!

Northern lights are amazing yes, just 2 days back I went to take some photos of the stars and randomly discovered northern lights on my photos as well lol.

I love it when that happens! :D

This weekend we have another chance ... Fingers crossed.

Hi @derekkind!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.371 which ranks you at #2283 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 45 places in the last three days (old rank 2328).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 260 contributions, your post is ranked at #66.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61785.67
ETH 2891.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54